Challah II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
This is a wonderful recipe! It is so easy! This was the first Challah that I ever made and it came out perfectly. I cut the water in 1/2 and I had to add about a cup more flour. Thank you for this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
This is an awesome recipe! My whole family loved it! Will definitely be used often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
I've made 6 batches of this bread recently at Bible School. All turned out great. Thanks for sharing! p.s. I used corn syrup, cheaper than honey. Saved the honey to eat with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
This bread is great- I love the honey flavor. I made this in my Kitchenaid, and it didn't rise at all the first rise. I read another reviewer had the same problem, so I did what she did and just kneaded it again (by hand this time). Then, after an hour it still hadn't risen, but after 2 hours, it had. I guess this dough is just so dense it needs longer to rise. I used 2 cups of white whole wheat flour so maybe that had something to do with it. Anyway, this bread is great to eat plain, or make into french toast, or to toast and eat with butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
This is a wonderful recipe - bread came out perfect, and didn't have to change a thing. The only substitution I made was to use safflower oil instead of canola and the Challah tastes wonderful. Thank you for this recipe - my first success using yeast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I made this recipe this year for Christmas. It was AWESOME. Being more familiar with regular active dry yeast I used that instead and followed the recipe to a T. None of the guests found the bread too sweet, it was close in texture and taste to Hawaiian Style breads one would find in the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
Delicious bread! I didn't have any honey one of the times that I made this...mixed light brown sugar and water to the consistency of honey and used the same amount that the recipe called for. Turned out nicely. Also, you can use this recipe for delicious dinner rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moroccantreasuresdotcom
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
I used orange blossom honey and Moroccan Orange Blossom water. I didnt know how to "deflate" bread so I stabbed with with a knife a few times. I also didnt know how to braid 4 peices and did 3 peices, I skipped the egg whites ontop. I think I made it to thick but used a small convection so the top got to brown b4 the bottom fully cooked but its sooo yummy and sweet I will be making it again! Recipe was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moroccantreasuresdotcom

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
This recipe is excellent! The challah comes out a lot sweeter than normal shabbat challah, but it is a nice change. I added chocolate chips to a recent batch...it was practically dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pikesville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Potomac, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lexi Lou
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
This recipe is wonderful!! I did change it up a bit though. I don't use alot of white flour, white sugar, etc., and sometimes have a difficult time with converting of recipes and having them turn out nicely but not this one! Perfect! With this recipe I used whole wheat pastry flour along with Agave syrup for the honey. I baked it at 325 for about 40 to 50 minutes. Turned out beautifully. Slightly crunchy outside (and a picture perfect loaf of braided bread too, wish I'd taken a picture)with a deliciously sweet dense middle. I will probably go a bit lighter on the Agave next time as it was just a tad too sweet for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Sufganiyot (Donuts)

See how to make traditional Jewish doughnuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States