Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2003
This came out absolutely perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2003
This delightful bread was a perfect addition to our holiday feasts last year and has been requested by my family and fellow employees again this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2003
True, it's not eggy, but it's yummy. I braided mine and added cinnamon and sugar on top. My loaves turned out fantastic! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
This bread is wonderful. My husband and I have been buying challah at a local bakery for years because I could never come up with an equal. This recipe is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
As a Japanese recently moved to US, I know little about Jewish culture. But if this beautiful and delicious bread is their traditional food, I am so jealous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2003
I searched for a recipe similar to a friend's that wouldn't give her's up. Now I've found one even better! I enjoyed making this recipe because it was easy - no fuss. It baked well, although I only put it in for 25 minutes. My family LOVES it and I think it is just the right amount of sweet to be delightful. It is moist and very hard to stop eating - beware! Challah has a beautiful presentation being that it is braided and this recipe is a sure way to impress anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2003
This was delicious bread. I made the loaves last night and froze them for next week's Rosh Hashanah meals. This isn't as eggy as I would have liked (I wanted to reproduce the challah from Zomick's bakery in NY and this really wasn't it). I baked the loaves one at a time on a pizza stone covered with greased tin foil. Every 10 minutes or so I threw 5-6 ice cubes into the bottom of the oven to keep it steamy and get a crispy crust. Took about 40 minutes to bake. Next time I'll add chocolate chips to the batter and top with cinnamon-sugar. Thanks for a great basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2003
Fantastic challah recipe! Usually I use a bread machine recipe, but this year, I wanted to do it all by hand. I made one loaf with raisins, which I added in during the second knead, and the first one I left plain, but sprinkled with sesame seeds rather than the poppy seeds. The bread turned out soft and very tasty. I did only need to bake them for 25 minutes, so keep an eye on them depending on how hot your oven gets. They made for a wonderful addition to our Rosh Hashanah dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2003
I have been baking challah for 35 years. This is the BEST RECIPE I have ever made. I made 4 loaves for Rosh Hashanah and bearly had enough left for french toast in the morning. This is a WINNER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2003
My friend and I made this challah (in a college kitchen!) and it was absolutely amazing! We thought it was wonderful, and I'll definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 401) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

French Baguettes

A bread machine makes quick work of the dough for these delicious baguettes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States