Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Jddmom
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I just feel in love with this recipe. Even after halving the recipe, I still had enough dough to make 2 footlong loaves. Don't pull your dough strings tight when you braid the dough. A tight braid will result in a cracked brad later on. I learned first hand :(, but still perfectly edible. I also didn't have problems with my bread bottom burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Made this for Easter and it was OUTSTANDING. Very easy and much better than what you can buy at the grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Best challah recipe ever! I also added a tablespoon of mahleb (also mahlep and mahlepi) and the kitchen smelled like bread-lover's heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
I loved this bread! It made a couple loves, and I tried two different braids on them, and they both worked really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I just made this and it is phenomenal! Mine was out of the oven 7 minutes earlier though, so my only suggestion is to watch it towards the end, and when it's nice and dark gold, take it out. My baking sheets are apparently no longer non-stick, so next time i will be using some parchment too. Great recipe! Won't be buying bread from the store half as much now!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Excellent and easy to make! When I added the yeast to the water I also added the honey and let the mixture sit for about 20 minutes. The yeast was activated and ready to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by botolski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lanaray
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
A PERFECT Challah! Everyone RAVES about it every Friday night. I make a strudel topping (instead of poppy seeds) by mixing one teaspoon of melted margarine with 2 tsp of flour and 3 tsp of white sugar. Mix it until it is a crumble consistency and sprinkle it on just before popping into the oven. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RachelC
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Yum! This bread was delicious, like eating a fluffy pillow made of bread. I followed the recipe proportions exactly. I made the following adjustments: -Water temperature was about 95 degrees F. -Used bread flour instead of all purpose flour. -Added salt during the flour mixing portion of the recipe, just to ensure it wouldn't counteract the yeast too quickly. -Used regular eggs for the dough, but for the egg wash on top of the bread, I used yoke only plus a spoonful of water (no egg whites). -Baked on parchment paper on top of preheated baking stones. I put a little vegetable oil on the parchment paper to ensure the dough would not stick. -At 375 degrees, it only took 22 minutes to bake properly. Allowed bread to cool for an hour before I sliced it. This made two very large loaves. I had to preheat two baking stones in the oven, otherwise there would not have been enough space. I watched a couple of videos on YouTube to see how people braided the loaves and decided to do a 3-strand braid. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachelC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
This is THE perfect recipe and I have tried several. Having grown up on Challah bread, this recipe is truly the real deal! It's easy to make AND yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
I really like this Challah recipe. I added a little OJ instead of warm water to give the bread some extra flavor. It turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 410) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

French Baguettes

A bread machine makes quick work of the dough for these delicious baguettes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States