Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Delicious and super easy. It wasn't quite the same density of the challah I'm used to from the Jewish bakery but still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
This came out so well! I made a big round loaf (halved the recipe, braided it, made the braid into a circle) and added in cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Great recipe, this bread tastes wonderful and is simple to make. I always just make a half batch so I end up with one large loaf. It seems I end up adding about an extra half cup-three quarters cup of flour (beyond the amount the recipe calls for) while kneading to make this dough not too sticky. I highly recommend this recipe, it makes for great sandwich bread and french toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
made a 1.5 loaf recipe for Easter... broke bread with friends...delicious! I used golden raisins and sesame seeds, accidentally added more honey than the recipe, it was a happy accident, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
fabulous! i did make some changes, used warm milk instead of water, butter instead of oil and added an extra egg. i also sprinkled tops with salt. i plan to make this one of my main bread recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mpulley
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Loved this recipe. I made a six stranded bread loaf and a crown loaf from this recipe. The perfect braiding videos can be found on YouTube.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I made this recipe with only one package of activedry yeast (1/4 tsp) and it rose perfectly and looked beautiful. This makes me think that one tablespoon (equivalent of 12 packages of yeast) would be far too much. Perhaps the recipe calls for one teaspoon instead? Either way it is completely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Excellent and delicious. I made 5 smaller challahs and baked them for less time until they looked ready. I used a percentage of wholemeal flour, which is what I had in the house. This recipe is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gbny718
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Great recipe. I just finished baking my challah and it looks and smells yummy!! Can't wait to make french toast with it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laura32
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Love this challah! I did follow some of the other reviewers changes, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denison, Texas, USA
Living In: Ardmore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 421) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

French Baguettes

A bread machine makes quick work of the dough for these delicious baguettes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States