Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Recipe was exact. Only had a problem with the braiding. But watched the video a couple of times and that worked great. Will most certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarkWayne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weaver, Alabama, USA
Living In: Anniston, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
My first attempt at challah was an epic failure, so I tried this recipe. Was so excited that it worked! Thanks for the helpful video. The flavor was nice, but I may try some of the variations people have posted in their reviews because I love experimenting with food and making it my own. I started the mixing process with my mixer then went to my hands to incorporate more than eight cups of flour. This gave me a good feel for the dough because I didn't want to add too much flour, but it probably took an additional cup. I tented my bread after twenty minutes and shortened the cook time by five minutes. Next time I may tent at fifteen minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzannesm
Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Wonderful recipe as is. Have made it a few times off off the instruction. Recently, I started adding herbs to the bread to change the flavor with the meals. Still az among and I don't need to add anything other the how I want it to taste. Everyone loves it ad it makes enough to do a six bread and even the circle challah styles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I've been baking bread for almost 30 years. This recipe was one of the most exact I have ever followed and the bread, if not the best certainly one of the best I have ever made. Sweet, perfect crumb and crust, I added nothing, changed nothing and will be making this over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEAKSPEAK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emmaus, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Keene, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
This made a really yummy challah with a little sweetness. It was light and soft with a slightly crunchy crust. I really loved it! It also was not much work considering the outcome. I would recommend this simple and good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I followed exact. used for french toast, Than the following day used as buttered toast. Best toast ever~~~ Next time I am adding some white sugar just to sweeten it a bit.... Overall, GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Great recipe! I did cut in half and did 1/2 cup honey. My Stepson (20yrs. old.) said it was his new favorite bread and I should make it once a week! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I've made this a few times now - it never seems to rise as much as the recipe suggests, but it does tast yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Just how I remember the smell and taste of this bread as a child.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
After first rise, you can refrigerate overnight which makes braiding much easier but allow for extra rise time using the finger indent test. I glaze with 1 egg, 1T olive oil and 1T white sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 404) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States