Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Foodielove76
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Very easy recipe to follow especially for those who are new to baking bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I halved the recipe and followed the recommendations from one of the reviews but the bread was dry, baked too long and frankly I will not try this again.I wasted time and eggs during an economy when no one can afford waste to begin with. I was very disappointed, even the squirrels outside gnawed on it and left it there! Good news is the Amish bread turned out well and we are eating that up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Morrilton, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Great recipe! Best recipe I've made for challah. Added one extra egg and 1/2 cup more honey. Cooked for 20 minutes at 350. No other changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
Very good Challah! Every time I make it, that first meal ends up being nothing but the bread right out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Larissa Bartelt
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Love this recipe! First time making any bread so I halved the recipe in case it didn't turn out, I was really amazed and proud of the result though. So yummy too! Next time I make it I will use more honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larissa Bartelt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mamihdezof2bonitos
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Just made this. Only waited 30mins to let cool ( couldn't wait) and it's nice fluffy and a tad sweetness from the honey on the inside. And a nice crust on the outside. Mine don't look as pretty( not good at the braid on bread thing) but still delicious. And once I get the braid down. Be perfect. Thank you for a fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamihdezof2bonitos

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
I've never had challah bread before so I'm not sure what it's supposed to be like, but this was kind of dry. It makes really good toast though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I halved the recipe and added step 1 ingredients to my Sunbeam Bread Machine and set it on "dough" setting. When cycle was complete I continued with steps 2-5. The texture was fantastic. I would have given this five stars, but the recipe is time consuming (but worth it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINGERPET

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Ugh! I attempted to make this recipe into a round challah for Rosh Hashanah and I am glad I decided to do this a day early so I can still go buy one! I couldn't get the dough to be the right consistency and it didn't rise.... it just spread out and came out bland and dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Very nice recipe. Love it. Unfortunately, where I live (Køge, Denmark) one cannot purchase active dry yeast at a grocery store (one is stuck with purchasing fresh yeast, which is a lot trickier). I did manage to tweak the fresh yeast, and it worked. Also, I brushed the egg on *before* letting it rise that second time, and I substituted sesame seeds for poppy seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 413) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

French Baguettes

A bread machine makes quick work of the dough for these delicious baguettes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States