Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2003
This came out absolutely perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
As a Japanese recently moved to US, I know little about Jewish culture. But if this beautiful and delicious bread is their traditional food, I am so jealous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
This bread is wonderful. My husband and I have been buying challah at a local bakery for years because I could never come up with an equal. This recipe is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2003
I searched for a recipe similar to a friend's that wouldn't give her's up. Now I've found one even better! I enjoyed making this recipe because it was easy - no fuss. It baked well, although I only put it in for 25 minutes. My family LOVES it and I think it is just the right amount of sweet to be delightful. It is moist and very hard to stop eating - beware! Challah has a beautiful presentation being that it is braided and this recipe is a sure way to impress anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2003
This was delicious bread. I made the loaves last night and froze them for next week's Rosh Hashanah meals. This isn't as eggy as I would have liked (I wanted to reproduce the challah from Zomick's bakery in NY and this really wasn't it). I baked the loaves one at a time on a pizza stone covered with greased tin foil. Every 10 minutes or so I threw 5-6 ice cubes into the bottom of the oven to keep it steamy and get a crispy crust. Took about 40 minutes to bake. Next time I'll add chocolate chips to the batter and top with cinnamon-sugar. Thanks for a great basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2003
True, it's not eggy, but it's yummy. I braided mine and added cinnamon and sugar on top. My loaves turned out fantastic! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2003
Fantastic challah recipe! Usually I use a bread machine recipe, but this year, I wanted to do it all by hand. I made one loaf with raisins, which I added in during the second knead, and the first one I left plain, but sprinkled with sesame seeds rather than the poppy seeds. The bread turned out soft and very tasty. I did only need to bake them for 25 minutes, so keep an eye on them depending on how hot your oven gets. They made for a wonderful addition to our Rosh Hashanah dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2003
I have been baking challah for 35 years. This is the BEST RECIPE I have ever made. I made 4 loaves for Rosh Hashanah and bearly had enough left for french toast in the morning. This is a WINNER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2003
My friend and I made this challah (in a college kitchen!) and it was absolutely amazing! We thought it was wonderful, and I'll definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2003
This delightful bread was a perfect addition to our holiday feasts last year and has been requested by my family and fellow employees again this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 398) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

French Baguettes

A bread machine makes quick work of the dough for these delicious baguettes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States