Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2005
I have made this before, but just yesterday figured out how to make it perfect. I halved the recipe and and altered it as follows: (1) I used an entire packet of rapid rise yeast instead of 1 1/2 tsp [this means you have to reduce proof time by about a half], (2) I used 1/2 cup of honey instead of 1/4 cup [Mmm!], (3) I used one whole egg plus three yokes [this gives it a much more challah-like taste], (4) I added about a tablespoon of honey to the eggwash, and (5) I reduced baking time by about 6 or 7 minutes, making sure to cover the challah with foil after about the first 20 minutes, to prevent too much browning. This came out magnificently and I suggest these alterations to anyone who likes a slightly sweeter and eggier challah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
When I started making challah on Friday nights, I searched for over a year for a good recipe. I actually bought cookbooks with one challah recipe in hopes that it would be "the one". Then I found this recipe. It is without a doubt, the best challah I've ever made (and much better than most of the store-bought ones in the Boston area). It is especially wonderful with raisins, topped with cinnamon sugar. One caveat though: be careful about the baking time. Mine never takes more than 25 minutes in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
366 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2001
We live in Israel and this receipe's taste is as authentic as the loaves we buy in the shop for Shabbat!!! Great taste and simple to do ( first time I have ever made bread). One loaf I flavored with onion and the other with herbs. Superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
229 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
REALLY GREAT!!! When i found that my local bakery was out of the round challot for Rosh Hashana, i made this recipe simply by searching for "honey challah" in a search engine. After years of fruitless attempts at making challah that were either too yeasty or just tasteless and hard, this is a REAL WINNER, and my kids think so too!!! Thanks a bunch! ...i just would have liked it to come out fluffier..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
I love making bread and often trying new recipes has given me a good point of reference. This bread was easy to make and turned out really nice, with abeautiful crunch and great flavor. I added a bit more honey than called for, for a great sweet bread. The dough was great to deal with and easy to shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
I had never made challah before, but I think this is a really good recipe. Next time I think I'll add a pinch more salt, or maybe more honey--just to give it some added flavor. I also thought it was a good basic recipe to add herbs and spices to, I think I'll add dill next time to see what happens. I didn't know if I was supposed to separate the third egg for the egg wash, so I kept it whole; as a result, I ended up with a few bits of scrambled egg on the top! I think I'll just do the yolk next time? Any ideas?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2002
I needed a pretty loaf of bread that didn't take a long time to make and this was it. My family loved it and I got lots of compliments from friends who thought it looked beautiful. I have never braided bread before so I didn't know what to expect but it was so easy. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2002
Was a little sweeter than i expected, but the texture and taste were both great. I'll definately be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2001
This bread is spectacular. It tastes wonderful and looks stunning. I addad kosher salt to the top after the egg glaze and that turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Very, very good bread. I have made this twice, once with rapid rise yeast and one with traditional active dry yeast. Active dry yeast works 100% better. Make sure to let the yeast/warm water sit for ten minutes with a tsp of sugar before adding other ingredients. Using bread flour also produced a better product than using all purpose flour. Used one egg, three egg yokes for the dough per another reviewer's suggestion, and added a Tablespoon of honey to the egg bath at the end. Definitely take the suggestion of baking for 30 minutes only, and cover with foil after 20.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 411) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

French Baguettes

A bread machine makes quick work of the dough for these delicious baguettes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States