Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2005
I have made this before, but just yesterday figured out how to make it perfect. I halved the recipe and and altered it as follows: (1) I used an entire packet of rapid rise yeast instead of 1 1/2 tsp [this means you have to reduce proof time by about a half], (2) I used 1/2 cup of honey instead of 1/4 cup [Mmm!], (3) I used one whole egg plus three yokes [this gives it a much more challah-like taste], (4) I added about a tablespoon of honey to the eggwash, and (5) I reduced baking time by about 6 or 7 minutes, making sure to cover the challah with foil after about the first 20 minutes, to prevent too much browning. This came out magnificently and I suggest these alterations to anyone who likes a slightly sweeter and eggier challah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
When I started making challah on Friday nights, I searched for over a year for a good recipe. I actually bought cookbooks with one challah recipe in hopes that it would be "the one". Then I found this recipe. It is without a doubt, the best challah I've ever made (and much better than most of the store-bought ones in the Boston area). It is especially wonderful with raisins, topped with cinnamon sugar. One caveat though: be careful about the baking time. Mine never takes more than 25 minutes in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
355 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2001
We live in Israel and this receipe's taste is as authentic as the loaves we buy in the shop for Shabbat!!! Great taste and simple to do ( first time I have ever made bread). One loaf I flavored with onion and the other with herbs. Superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
220 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
REALLY GREAT!!! When i found that my local bakery was out of the round challot for Rosh Hashana, i made this recipe simply by searching for "honey challah" in a search engine. After years of fruitless attempts at making challah that were either too yeasty or just tasteless and hard, this is a REAL WINNER, and my kids think so too!!! Thanks a bunch! ...i just would have liked it to come out fluffier..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
I love making bread and often trying new recipes has given me a good point of reference. This bread was easy to make and turned out really nice, with abeautiful crunch and great flavor. I added a bit more honey than called for, for a great sweet bread. The dough was great to deal with and easy to shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
I had never made challah before, but I think this is a really good recipe. Next time I think I'll add a pinch more salt, or maybe more honey--just to give it some added flavor. I also thought it was a good basic recipe to add herbs and spices to, I think I'll add dill next time to see what happens. I didn't know if I was supposed to separate the third egg for the egg wash, so I kept it whole; as a result, I ended up with a few bits of scrambled egg on the top! I think I'll just do the yolk next time? Any ideas?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2002
I needed a pretty loaf of bread that didn't take a long time to make and this was it. My family loved it and I got lots of compliments from friends who thought it looked beautiful. I have never braided bread before so I didn't know what to expect but it was so easy. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2002
Was a little sweeter than i expected, but the texture and taste were both great. I'll definately be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2001
This bread is spectacular. It tastes wonderful and looks stunning. I addad kosher salt to the top after the egg glaze and that turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Very, very good bread. I have made this twice, once with rapid rise yeast and one with traditional active dry yeast. Active dry yeast works 100% better. Make sure to let the yeast/warm water sit for ten minutes with a tsp of sugar before adding other ingredients. Using bread flour also produced a better product than using all purpose flour. Used one egg, three egg yokes for the dough per another reviewer's suggestion, and added a Tablespoon of honey to the egg bath at the end. Definitely take the suggestion of baking for 30 minutes only, and cover with foil after 20.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 401) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

French Baguettes

A bread machine makes quick work of the dough for these delicious baguettes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States