Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by herbwife
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Now THIS is traditional Challah! Delicious and so easy to make that even a 12 year old child can do it (my little one often makes it, and without my help). We make it every week for Shabbat. It's so good that our non-Jewish friends rave about it and several have standing orders. And left-over Challah (if you are lucky enough to have any) makes for the most divine French toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by herbwife

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I made this Challah for 800 people (that's right, 800!!) and it was a HIT. It was loved by all. I added 3 eggs instead of 2, 1 cup of honey instead of 1/2 (which makes the dough super sticky and harder to work with but well worth it in the end) and lots of golden raisins that I allowed to plump in hot water before adding to the dough. I added a little honey to the egg wash and then sprinkled with poppy seeds. (I used a bread machine to do all of the kneading and raising for me since I had so many loaves to do.) Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
wasn't in love with this recipe, followed exactly. It was more dense and crumbly than I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
incredibly good! tip: activate the yeast in the warm water with 1 tsp of sugar while you blend with wire attachment for kitchen aid the eggs, honey, oil and salt. then blend the yeast and water (and sugar) mix in. switch to dough hook and add 1 c of flour at a time. I got to the perfect consistency at 5 and 1/2 c of flour and the loaves were better than any homemade bread I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
this bread is amazing, the taste is fantastic!! My husband made it and we devoured it!! he used 3/4c of honey instead of 1/2c. and he added cranberries the 2nd time he made it. It looks beautiful and it has become a family favourite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexii

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by I
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
This was my first time making bread EVER, and it turned out perfect! =D It even looks like it was made in a bakery. I'd recommend it to anyone. It is a little flavorless (b/c its bread not cake), so if you want you can add salt, sugar, raisins, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
did anyone else find they needed to add way more flour in order to knead? my dough was farrr too sticky with only 8 cups of flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Awesome recipe. It kills everytime! My whole family looks forward to when I cook this. My one tip though: bake at 350 degrees instead of 375. At 375 the bottom gets too hard to even bite! At 350 it's and pliable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
When I was making the bread I thought it odd that there were only 3 eggs in the recipe when I've seen others call for 5-7 eggs, but I brushed off my concerne because of all the positive reviews. I wish I had listened to my instincts. Although my challah came out looking beautiful, once I let it rest and sliced into it I knew right away it wasn't quite right. The bread was far too dry, and dense even though I used less flour than the recipe called for. I also couldn't taste sweetness/egg in the bread at all. Not a total loss because I will use it for a bread pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Overall, easy to make and good consistency, but lacked flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 404) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

French Baguettes

A bread machine makes quick work of the dough for these delicious baguettes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States