Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
I really like this Challah recipe. I added a little OJ instead of warm water to give the bread some extra flavor. It turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
This bread is awesome. I think it will be our new family staple. Nice rich flavor. i followed some other reviewers and used milk instead of water, 2 1/4 t. yeast or one pack, 3 whole eggs in the dough one for wash and 4 T. butter instead of vegetable oil. It is easy to make and came out great the first time. It got scarfed down by anyone and everyone. It makes 2 huge loaves which is a plus in my book. Also, it kept well in the fridge for at least one week. I am going to try making cinnamon braids next time. It makes incredible french toast and bread crumbs too. Like I said I think it will be my new go to all purpose bread for the family. MMMMMMMMM!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Love this recipe! I made 6 loaves for a 50-person dorm and they were gone within five hours. I proof the yeast in the honey and water for 10 minutes before adding everything else. I use a stand mixer and knead with a dough hook for 10 minutes. Use the recipe as a guideline for flour amounts. I start with 8 cups as recommended, but it varies every time I make it with humidity, temperature, etc. I simply add more flour until the dough reaches a workable consistency -- it should pull away from and "clean" the inside of the bowl as the dough hook kneads it. I generally only have to bake for 25-30 minutes at most. The bread is incredibly moist, sweet and eggy, and folks are always impressed by the beautiful braid. Try rolling cinnamon, sugar and raisins into the dough as well. This makes the best French toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I made two loaves, 1 with raisins and 1 plain with sea salt on the top. My family RAVED about this bread!!! We all had sandwiches on it for dinner and devoured the whole loaf in one sitting. The raisin challah got a little extra treatment as a dessert with amaretto butter sauce drizzled on each slice. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Holy cow. A while back, I decided I was going to learn how to bake bread, and this was the first recipe I used. I had four roommates and a number of friends over at any given time, so every time I made this, it was gone well before anybody went home or to bed. I was thrilled at how easy it was to make! One time, I was out of honey, so I tried molasses instead. It gave it a unique, but no less delicious, flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I made this over the holidays and it turned out wonderful! I made it exactly how mentioned except I made three loaves instead of two...wonderful recipe and easy. Thanks Joan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
this was so easy. Followed the recipe exactly and it tastes great. Mine wasn't as egg-y as the bakery though. Made 2 enormorous braids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by herbwife
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Now THIS is traditional Challah! Delicious and so easy to make that even a 12 year old child can do it (my little one often makes it, and without my help). We make it every week for Shabbat. It's so good that our non-Jewish friends rave about it and several have standing orders. And left-over Challah (if you are lucky enough to have any) makes for the most divine French toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by herbwife

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I made this Challah for 800 people (that's right, 800!!) and it was a HIT. It was loved by all. I added 3 eggs instead of 2, 1 cup of honey instead of 1/2 (which makes the dough super sticky and harder to work with but well worth it in the end) and lots of golden raisins that I allowed to plump in hot water before adding to the dough. I added a little honey to the egg wash and then sprinkled with poppy seeds. (I used a bread machine to do all of the kneading and raising for me since I had so many loaves to do.) Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
wasn't in love with this recipe, followed exactly. It was more dense and crumbly than I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 401) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

French Baguettes

A bread machine makes quick work of the dough for these delicious baguettes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States