Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Thank you for this great and very easy recipe! Yesterday was my very first time that i made a bread, Thanks to your recipe was really easy and great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Luv this recipe..was easy to assemble and taste delicious, still I had to add a little anise and some golden raisins, not to mention a little egg wash, just to give it that beautiful shiny crust. just perfection! Some fresh churned butter and I was in heaven...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn L. Perkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Yummy!! My family loves this bread. My loaf was finished cooking in about 27 minutes in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I've never made Challah before, or any breads that require yeast at all for that matter. Even a rookie like me can pull this off and have a very beautiful and tasty couple of loaves to show for it! I had many many compliments on both taste and appearance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silver

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
This recipe is a bit of work but well worth it. Everyone enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Believe it or not, I substituted baking powder & vinegar for yeast. This was the best bread Ive ever made. My bread rose in the oven perfectly. It was simply amazing. The bread cut real nice and the taste of this bread is out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gold Canyon, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
My first yeast bread recipie in a long time and it works well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Easy to make and delicious! As good or better than store-bought Challah, at least what I've had in Boston and New York. I halved the recipe and used one egg and one egg yolk in the dough, saved the white from the second egg and used it as the dough wash. I also used 20g of cake (fresh/wet) yeast instead of dry. In addition I made a four-piece braid, which makes a better-shaped loaf than a three-piece braid does (to do this, just google or youtube four-piece braid). Some of the comments were wishing their loaves were fluffier, if you're getting super dense bread with this recipe make sure your yeast isn't old (use cake yeast if you can find it), try not to add too much extra flour beyond what the recipe calls for while kneading, and if you want you can even try letting the bread rise longer than an hour after you form the loaves. They should double in size, if they're not, let them rise longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Oslo, Oslo, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I made this recipe exactly as directed. It was my first time making challah and I was making it for Rosh Hashanah at my hubby's cousin's place. I'm not Jewish and was not sure if it would be authentic but everyone there thought it was perfect! Someone had brought a store-made challah but no one ate it - mine was ripped to shreds and devoured very quickly. I was praised up and down for this challah and told that it had a very authentic taste and texture. Definitely recommend this recipe - especially for first-timers and gentiles wanting to impress the in-laws. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luna91077

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Yum, this was so good! I made it for the office to celebrate Rosh Hashanah (even though none of us are Jewish, but we sell Jewish products) We all loved it and I will probably make it again or other occasions. We ate it with honey butter and it was so sweet and so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shellybeans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 419) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

French Baguettes

A bread machine makes quick work of the dough for these delicious baguettes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States