Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Wonderful bread - thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by capecodcook79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barnstable, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I don't make bread often so I was a little scared to make this but it turned out great and I can't wait for it to cool down! I'm going to eat it right now! Although I don't know if anybody made this mistake but I put a little of the egg mixture on the bottom of the dough as well as the top, it was a bad idea... the bread ended up sticking to the pan! It did eventually get scraped off, but was annoying to do so don't make my mistake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nomnomLauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Really, good, but I see the recipe has changed slightly since I printed it out originally. I multiple the recipe to use 4 eggs, and make 4 small loaves. We also add chocolate chips to the batter, and use 1/3 whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This bread was AMAZING! I cut down the servings from 30 to 20 and kept the eggs the same. I put all the ingredients in my bread machine and turned on the dough cycle. When that was done I punched it down, kneaded it for a while, and then braided it into one large loaf. I only baked it for 25 mins, the full 40 would have definitely burnt it. It was picture perfect! I cannot wait to make french toast in the morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ivy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I followed as directed but my bread was very dense and dry. I don't know what I did wrong. First time making it and probably the last. After all that hard work, I was disappointed. Will not complain next time I splurge $6 for a 2lb challah loaf from the local jewish bakery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by johnsonaj

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This was great! I was afraid I had bungled it, but I ended up with a big, beautiful loaf that tasted just like the challah I remember from my youth. I like it sweeter than this, so next time I'll be adding extra honey, but if you don't have a sweet tooth, there's no need to change the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
For those of you who use your Kitchen Aids for kneading your bread: you will NOT be able to use it for kneading for this recipe unless you halve it (only getting one loaf). If you don't halve it, you can use it to mix all the ingredients together with your paddle attachment, but the dough will climb up and over your dough hook so you'll need to knead it by hand, adding flour as needed. With that said, this is a FANTASTIC and easy recipe. I was a little intimidated at first by the braiding part, but it was easy and both loaves (one with sesame seeds, one without) turned out beautifully and tasted delicious. Try this, you'll love it. Happy baking! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henrietta, New York, USA
Living In: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
wow! this is wonderful ... made two loaves ... and it was gone in a day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodie S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Tasty, but needed a little less time in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorlene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camdenton, Missouri, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
delicious. I did add 12 c honey for a sweeter bread. as others have mentioned, this makes 2 HUGE loaves
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 161-170 (of 419) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

French Baguettes

A bread machine makes quick work of the dough for these delicious baguettes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States