Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
LOVE this recipe! Last year during Rosh Hashanah, I saw this bread on t.v. It was a beautiful looking bread. I'm not Jewish but had to know how to fix it. I will be making it for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by youngcooksdontfail
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I've tried this recipe twice and it's been amazing both times. For those halving the recipe, like I did, put 2 eggs in. Also - I experimented both times with different amounts of raisins - 1/2c the first time and 1c the second time. 1c was definitely better, but remember to leave the dough a little bit sticky before the first rising if you use raisins - they soak up the moisture from the bread. You could also plump the raisins with water before adding them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by VeggieFly
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Pretty good! I had to scale down the recipe to 1/4 because my mini Zo bread machine only takes up to 1lb loaves. For making it in the bread machine, All i did was add the ingredients(do not wet the yeast) and set the machine on "Dough". Let it rise once in the machine, then braid & let it rise again OUT of the machine for 1 hour. Baked in the oven for 20mins. I've made so many changes to the recipe it made my head hurt lol! I would recommend more eggs(or egg yokes), and much more honey(i added 1/4cp of honey to mine). I also washed the dough twice, once w/ butter & again before baking w/ 1 egg & honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
This recipe is amazing. The bread turns out light and airy. The only thing is it could use more salt, or as I did, put salted butter on it. But over all it was DELICIOUS!! Great job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
This recipe is easy and very tasty. Rather than putting foil over the bread as it bakes, I turned the temperature down to 350 degrees (or even less, if you've a hot oven). Haven't burnt a bread yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
This tasted amazing! My only complaint is that it came out waaaay too sticky, and I had to add a whole lot of flour, but it tasted great anyway! For the egg wash I use the yolk from the egg, add some water and sugar, beat it all together, and wallah! It comes out just like at the bakeries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I ran out of AP flour while baking this, so I substituted about 1/2 c freshly ground flax meal and 1-1/2 c king arthur's bread flour. I prefer my challah bread to be sweeter, but other than that (and presumably due to my lack of AP), it was a great and EASY recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
I have no idea what challah is supposed to taste like, but we (and our neighbors) liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris(py)
Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
good. better than other recipes I've tried. not as sweet as sugar recipes, but the honey is healthier and I like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Tuning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leelo
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Great! It tasted delicious with honey butter on top! (78)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leelo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 161-170 (of 405) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States