Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I will start off by saying I am not an expert bread baker by any stretch of the imagination. I made this bread last night and I was a little disappointed. It had a strange flavor to me ( maybe it's the honey? an ingredient I don't really love) and was very dense. This is not light and fluffy at all but heavy and a little on the dry side ( I only let mine go for 23 minutes and they were still dry). I used this for french toast so it wasn't a total loss. However after spending all of that time on something I am not 100% thrilled with, I would choose a different recipe in the future. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Good bread and made great french toast as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Milford, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Fantastic! I have never made bread that required kneading, so I was a little worried, but it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Globe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I'll give this a 4 star only because the bread itself was pretty good. I halved the recipe, the dough was extremely sticky, I probably added in an extra 1/2+cup of flour, still a bit sticky but was afraid to put in more. My bread didn't come out braided. As it was doing the 2nd rise, it pretty much melded back together and I basically ended up with what looked like a loaf of french bread. I might try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
This was my first time making this type of bread, it's super good! came out more dense than i imagined but it's sooo good. followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
I'm not a baker, but this recipe made me look like a pro. I unashamedly admit that I nearly ate the whole loaf. I was initially worried that the flour started clumping when adding to liquid, but it was fine. I used my Kitchen Aid, but put it away prematurely - after initial rise, will knead one by hand and one with Kitchen Aid next time. I baked my first loaf for 28 min and it was almost burnt; the second for just under 20 min. The second loaf TRUMPED the first. DO NOT BAKE FOR RECOMMENDED TIME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThnkThn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hoops & Yo Yo
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
First time making Challah. Oh my GOODNESS! This bread was FANTASTIC! Even though I halved the recipe, it made a HUGE loaf...and we managed to eat half of it this evening! Wonderful! Will absolutely make again! I can't wait! 5 Stars! My husband is quite fond of it, and I wanted to surprise him by making it for him. I found a video online to show how to braid a 6-strand Challah loaf. I also used the advice of one of the other reviewers, and halved the recipe, but used 1/2 cup of honey, 1 egg, and 3 egg yolks in the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hoops & Yo Yo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by xmyheart
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
This bread is phenomenal. It was my first time ever making bread and I chose to try this recipe out. I was a little intimidated knowing I'd have to "braid" dough but it really wasn't hard at all. I added a little more honey (3/4 cup) than was called for and for my egg wash I added a little milk (1/2 tsp) and honey (1/2 tsp) to it. It gave it this nice golden brown glow. I made one with golden raisins and one without and they both tasted great. My whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xmyheart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I halved the recipe and then made a few alterations along the way. Instead of putting a 1/4 cup of honey in it (remember, I halved mine, so it would've been 1/4 instead of a 1/2 cup), I used a 1/4 cup of brown sugar and 2 tablespoons of honey. I still used 1 tablespoon of yeast, however. The bread is delicious. I didn't bother with using any poppy seeds and I brushed the top of mine with butter so it would soften nicely instead of egg. It's been about 3 days later now and there's only a bit left, just as good as the store brands and isn't as crumbly as other bread recipes I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sammi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Came out perfect. The only change i made was to cook at 350 F for 30 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 424) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

French Baguettes

A bread machine makes quick work of the dough for these delicious baguettes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States