Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Photo by lherman
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Amazing flavor. Perfect bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lherman

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I used molasses instead of honey for this. It wasn't very sweet or eggy, but I did add extra flour, so that might've been the cause. My result tasted like a regular white bread, with a crunchy crust and soft interior. I'm gonna use it for my sandwiches. Though I expected something more dessert like, this is pretty good already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
This recipe was simple and delicious! Will try with raisins and a sweet spread next time. Made for excellent french toast the next day, as well. There is a great video on youtube on how to make a 6 strand braided loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I will start off by saying I am not an expert bread baker by any stretch of the imagination. I made this bread last night and I was a little disappointed. It had a strange flavor to me ( maybe it's the honey? an ingredient I don't really love) and was very dense. This is not light and fluffy at all but heavy and a little on the dry side ( I only let mine go for 23 minutes and they were still dry). I used this for french toast so it wasn't a total loss. However after spending all of that time on something I am not 100% thrilled with, I would choose a different recipe in the future. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Good bread and made great french toast as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Milford, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Fantastic! I have never made bread that required kneading, so I was a little worried, but it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Globe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I'll give this a 4 star only because the bread itself was pretty good. I halved the recipe, the dough was extremely sticky, I probably added in an extra 1/2+cup of flour, still a bit sticky but was afraid to put in more. My bread didn't come out braided. As it was doing the 2nd rise, it pretty much melded back together and I basically ended up with what looked like a loaf of french bread. I might try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
This was my first time making this type of bread, it's super good! came out more dense than i imagined but it's sooo good. followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
I'm not a baker, but this recipe made me look like a pro. I unashamedly admit that I nearly ate the whole loaf. I was initially worried that the flour started clumping when adding to liquid, but it was fine. I used my Kitchen Aid, but put it away prematurely - after initial rise, will knead one by hand and one with Kitchen Aid next time. I baked my first loaf for 28 min and it was almost burnt; the second for just under 20 min. The second loaf TRUMPED the first. DO NOT BAKE FOR RECOMMENDED TIME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThnkThn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hoops & Yo Yo
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
First time making Challah. Oh my GOODNESS! This bread was FANTASTIC! Even though I halved the recipe, it made a HUGE loaf...and we managed to eat half of it this evening! Wonderful! Will absolutely make again! I can't wait! 5 Stars! My husband is quite fond of it, and I wanted to surprise him by making it for him. I found a video online to show how to braid a 6-strand Challah loaf. I also used the advice of one of the other reviewers, and halved the recipe, but used 1/2 cup of honey, 1 egg, and 3 egg yolks in the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hoops & Yo Yo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 427) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

French Baguettes

A bread machine makes quick work of the dough for these delicious baguettes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States