Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I will start off by saying I am not an expert bread baker by any stretch of the imagination. I made this bread last night and I was a little disappointed. It had a strange flavor to me ( maybe it's the honey? an ingredient I don't really love) and was very dense. This is not light and fluffy at all but heavy and a little on the dry side ( I only let mine go for 23 minutes and they were still dry). I used this for french toast so it wasn't a total loss. However after spending all of that time on something I am not 100% thrilled with, I would choose a different recipe in the future. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Good bread and made great french toast as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Milford, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Fantastic! I have never made bread that required kneading, so I was a little worried, but it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Globe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I'll give this a 4 star only because the bread itself was pretty good. I halved the recipe, the dough was extremely sticky, I probably added in an extra 1/2+cup of flour, still a bit sticky but was afraid to put in more. My bread didn't come out braided. As it was doing the 2nd rise, it pretty much melded back together and I basically ended up with what looked like a loaf of french bread. I might try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
This was my first time making this type of bread, it's super good! came out more dense than i imagined but it's sooo good. followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
I'm not a baker, but this recipe made me look like a pro. I unashamedly admit that I nearly ate the whole loaf. I was initially worried that the flour started clumping when adding to liquid, but it was fine. I used my Kitchen Aid, but put it away prematurely - after initial rise, will knead one by hand and one with Kitchen Aid next time. I baked my first loaf for 28 min and it was almost burnt; the second for just under 20 min. The second loaf TRUMPED the first. DO NOT BAKE FOR RECOMMENDED TIME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThnkThn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hoops & Yo Yo
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
First time making Challah. Oh my GOODNESS! This bread was FANTASTIC! Even though I halved the recipe, it made a HUGE loaf...and we managed to eat half of it this evening! Wonderful! Will absolutely make again! I can't wait! 5 Stars! My husband is quite fond of it, and I wanted to surprise him by making it for him. I found a video online to show how to braid a 6-strand Challah loaf. I also used the advice of one of the other reviewers, and halved the recipe, but used 1/2 cup of honey, 1 egg, and 3 egg yolks in the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hoops & Yo Yo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by xmyheart
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
This bread is phenomenal. It was my first time ever making bread and I chose to try this recipe out. I was a little intimidated knowing I'd have to "braid" dough but it really wasn't hard at all. I added a little more honey (3/4 cup) than was called for and for my egg wash I added a little milk (1/2 tsp) and honey (1/2 tsp) to it. It gave it this nice golden brown glow. I made one with golden raisins and one without and they both tasted great. My whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xmyheart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I halved the recipe and then made a few alterations along the way. Instead of putting a 1/4 cup of honey in it (remember, I halved mine, so it would've been 1/4 instead of a 1/2 cup), I used a 1/4 cup of brown sugar and 2 tablespoons of honey. I still used 1 tablespoon of yeast, however. The bread is delicious. I didn't bother with using any poppy seeds and I brushed the top of mine with butter so it would soften nicely instead of egg. It's been about 3 days later now and there's only a bit left, just as good as the store brands and isn't as crumbly as other bread recipes I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sammi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Came out perfect. The only change i made was to cook at 350 F for 30 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 404) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States