Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
my family loved this bread and i enjoyed making it. it definitely did not need 40 minutes in the oven though. mine was done at 30 and the loaf that was on the top was a little overdone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stefanie
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
This is the best Challah recipe I have come across! I TRIPLE the honey as my family has a sweet tooth AND it makes the bread super-delicious! Additionally, I always make two loaves from this one recipe. I braid each loaf seperately and cook each individually. I have found that cooking each smaller loaf seperately AND AT A LOWER TEMP (335 for 30 minutes) makes the bread perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stefanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I made 1/4 of the recipe, ending up with 8 buns. I used half a packet of quick rise yeast, doubled the honey, used 1 whole egg, & used 1.5 cups white bread flour + 1 cup all purpose flour. The texture of the buns was beautiful, but it was too dry. Next time I will definitely double the amount of oil. Maybe I will cut back on some water too, using only 1/2 cup for 1/4 of the recipe, since the dough was ridiculously sticky (hence the additional amount of flour used).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PeacockPanda
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
So good! I used a mix of all purpose flour, oat flour, whole wheat flour and unbleached bread flour. Used canola oil and almond oil and topped with flax seed. Only needed about 20 minutes in the oven. I also did a 6 strand braid. Fantastic bread!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
I am just beginning to venture into the art of bread-making and this was my first try at challah bread. It came out beautifully and tastes just as good as any bakery bought challah I've had. I added just a tablespoon of sugar to give it some more flavor and I'm delighted with the results, though my father feels that the recipe is a bit bland. I will definitely make this again, though I think the recipe can be tweaked here and there for some sensational results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by casey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
We (embarrasingly) ate two loaves of this in one night! Beware: It's completely addicting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amanda
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Every time I make this recipe it is a big hit.I follow the recipe exactly except that I use either all whole wheat or mostly whole wheat flour and I leave off the poppy-seeds. It also seems to bake MUCH faster then the recipe suggest that it will. I usually take it out at 25 minutes and it's perfectly done. I don't know if this is because I bake it on a pizza stone. I like peoples ideas with adding honey to the glaze. Maybe I'll try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lherman
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Amazing flavor. Perfect bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lherman

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I used molasses instead of honey for this. It wasn't very sweet or eggy, but I did add extra flour, so that might've been the cause. My result tasted like a regular white bread, with a crunchy crust and soft interior. I'm gonna use it for my sandwiches. Though I expected something more dessert like, this is pretty good already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
This recipe was simple and delicious! Will try with raisins and a sweet spread next time. Made for excellent french toast the next day, as well. There is a great video on youtube on how to make a 6 strand braided loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 404) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States