Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Very nice recipe. Love it. Unfortunately, where I live (Køge, Denmark) one cannot purchase active dry yeast at a grocery store (one is stuck with purchasing fresh yeast, which is a lot trickier). I did manage to tweak the fresh yeast, and it worked. Also, I brushed the egg on *before* letting it rise that second time, and I substituted sesame seeds for poppy seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
I made this recipe twice- the first time i followed it exactly and it came out nicely- a little too much flour. The second time i decided to let it rise overnight, kneading it twice. Big mistake!! It never rerose to it's original rising peak and it cane out much smaller than last time!! Once again, tastes floury. Some positive suggestions would be to add an apple in 1/2 inch cubes and raisons- both of which i rolled around in cinnamon sugar!! Also, top the challah with a bit of cinnamon sugar after you glaze it with egg! Gave it a nice sweet taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Bread burned at 30 minutes on the bottom.... Terrible directions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob Thatcher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
I've been searching for a long time for an exceptionally good challah recipe, and this is the closest I've found and have happily added it to the family recipe book. I make it precisely as directed and it never disappoints. Thank you for an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I make it all the time! A perfect replacement for the $6 challah bread I used to buy from WholeFoods. My daughter begs me to use it for French toast. Also it is very easy to add stuff like raisins, garlic, rosemary, chippers....and make smaller loaves. Just make sure to decrease the temperature and timing when they are smaller.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
This bread turned out excellent. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
This is the most amazing Challah we have made. We tried lots of recipes but this has worked best for our family. We added a little more honey to taste. It keeps coming out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
This is a amazing recipe but I recommend to ignore the bake time the proper way to check if it is done is knock on it if it sounds hollow it is done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
I loved this challah and so did my family! It was sweet, and had a great texture. I halved the recipe and changed a couple of things: 1. I added more honey and used 1 egg and 2 yolks as another person suggested. I also used olive oil instead of vegetable and it turned out amazing! Really beautiful to look at and even more wonderful taste. Thank you SO much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Zielinski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Welland, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Fort Erie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by doczues
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Made excellent Challah, followed recipe exactly and got two great loaves from it. Everyone loved it and need to make more already :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doczues

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 404) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

French Baguettes

A bread machine makes quick work of the dough for these delicious baguettes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States