Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
simple and very tasty with a lovely texture. Made one loaf for the first attempt and the bottom crust was a little burnt. Second attempt I made two loaves, used melted butter in place of the cooking oil, and baked at 350 instead of 375. Yum! update: this time I divided the batch into 3 loaves - put egg wash and sesame seeds on one, cinnamon sugar and egg wash on another, and raisins and egg wash on the other. all 3 turned out great - *love* this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2015
I've never eaten challah before, so I wasn't sure what to expect. It was so good that my kids and I almost ate an entire loaf in one evening. I followed the suggestions provided by Feeding Frenzy and the bread was beautiful. In fact, I have made this twice in one week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by always_hungry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA
Photo by Sophia
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2015
This is by far my favorite Challah recipe. I use this recipe every week to make Challah. I have altered it a bit over the last few months. I use 1 package of active dry yeast, olive oil, 1/2 cup of honey, organic unbleached wheat and unbleached all purpose flour. Thank you for sharing your recipe with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2015
I made this bread a few months ago, I remember I accidentally left it out to rise too long. Biggest challah bread I ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
This challah is amazing! I make this into 3 loaves instead of two, and cook at 375* for 25-30 minutes. Otherwise, I follow the directions exactly. My neighbor grew up in New York and would frequent Jewish bakeries, and said this tasted just like the challah she would get there. This is definitely a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
This will easily make 4 regular size Challah loaves in an 11x15" pan. I proofed the yeast in warm water and honey, and in the measuring cup honey was in added eggs and oil, mixed then set aside enough for brushing on top before adding rest to yeast mixture. Worked beautifully. I've never made such fluffy bread before. Was my first time making challah...and yes, it's just like what we bought in Israel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKING66

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Meagan Theriault
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Followed the recipe exactly and it worked great! Beautiful dough, and delicious bread. Turns out I'm not great at braiding, but the second one turned out prettier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meagan Theriault

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
It was dry and had no flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy Randy Smith
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
It was a little denser than I expected, but I suppose if I let it rise a little longer that *might* solve the problem? Flavor was really good, looked just beautiful! Used it the next morning for French toast - again, a little dense for that, but the flavor was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Randy Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redmond, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 430) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

French Baguettes

A bread machine makes quick work of the dough for these delicious baguettes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States