Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I made this recipe exactly as directed. It was my first time making challah and I was making it for Rosh Hashanah at my hubby's cousin's place. I'm not Jewish and was not sure if it would be authentic but everyone there thought it was perfect! Someone had brought a store-made challah but no one ate it - mine was ripped to shreds and devoured very quickly. I was praised up and down for this challah and told that it had a very authentic taste and texture. Definitely recommend this recipe - especially for first-timers and gentiles wanting to impress the in-laws. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luna91077

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Yum, this was so good! I made it for the office to celebrate Rosh Hashanah (even though none of us are Jewish, but we sell Jewish products) We all loved it and I will probably make it again or other occasions. We ate it with honey butter and it was so sweet and so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shellybeans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I have made this Challah I many times and have given it away as gifts. I am begged to make some more of this wonderful recipe! Thank you for creating happy smiles and your delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by heidi
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
My grandmother made Challah for Sabbath, so I was hoping to get the same type she made from this recipe. The bread looked fantastic and was a perfect piture of Challah, but as soon as I tasted it, I knew it wasn't the same. I'm not sure how to fix it, but it sure needs more egg yolks and honey, it lacked the honey eggy flavor Bubbe's did! Also, the dough was far too sticky with the 8 cups of flour, and found I had to add quite a bit more in order to work with it. I am thinking of using egg yolks only, more honey and cutting down on the water. The good news is that it did make excellent french toast and croutons, so not a total loss!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Grand Isle, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
My husband and I have just one word for this Challah recipe--AWESOME!! Since I am no longer able to find Challah in any of my local stores, I decided to try this. I halved the recipe, and altered it pretty much as Feeding Frenzy did, using 1/2 c honey and one egg plus 3 yolks. Turned out beautifully. Can't wait to use this for French toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Incredibly easy, and a nice light flavor that makes everyone happy. I must make smaller loaves, though, bc I ended up with 3: 1 regular loaf, a round braid, and a huge braid. I could've divided this into 4 pieces and gotten regular sized loaves out of each piece. We had the regular loaf tonight for sandwiches and it worked perfectly. This bread rises extremely well and has a nice flavor, mild enough for sandwiches yet good enough to eat by itself. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smartt
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I don't usually write reviews but I had to write a review for this bread. It was so amazing and so easy to make! It took several attempts to get the dough braided just right but it turned out pretty! The kitchen smelled wonderful as the bread was baking. My husband and I both snacked on the bread and just couldn't get enough of it! This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smartt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Boyfriend requested french toast for his birthday breakfast so I searched for a good bread recipe to use for it. Very glad I stumbled upon this recipe. I have never eaten challah bread before so I dont have a frame of reference but this bread is so good. I followed the recipe exactly except that I used bread flour instead of all purpose. I found that I did not need all 8 cups. I got through about 6.5 cups before the dough reached the desired consistency. This recipe makes ALOT of dough... I wasn't prepared for having so much bread at one time so instead of two large loaves I made one large loaf and three smaller loaves. I preheated my baking stone at 550 for one hour and then decreased the temp to 375. I placed the loaves directly on the baking stone and baked for 25 minutes. Turned out perfect. My family and I devoured two of the smaller loaves right out of the oven. We used the third smaller loaf for french toast this morning and now we have the huge loaf left over. I will probably half this recipe next time unless I'm feeding more then 4 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
It looked good but pretty bland. I wouldn't make this recipe again. My jewish boyfriend gave it a 7.5 out of 10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktylizbth

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
perfect for french toast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 421) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

French Baguettes

A bread machine makes quick work of the dough for these delicious baguettes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States