Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
fabulous! i did make some changes, used warm milk instead of water, butter instead of oil and added an extra egg. i also sprinkled tops with salt. i plan to make this one of my main bread recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mpulley
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Loved this recipe. I made a six stranded bread loaf and a crown loaf from this recipe. The perfect braiding videos can be found on YouTube.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I made this recipe with only one package of activedry yeast (1/4 tsp) and it rose perfectly and looked beautiful. This makes me think that one tablespoon (equivalent of 12 packages of yeast) would be far too much. Perhaps the recipe calls for one teaspoon instead? Either way it is completely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Excellent and delicious. I made 5 smaller challahs and baked them for less time until they looked ready. I used a percentage of wholemeal flour, which is what I had in the house. This recipe is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gbny718
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Great recipe. I just finished baking my challah and it looks and smells yummy!! Can't wait to make french toast with it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laura32
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Love this challah! I did follow some of the other reviewers changes, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denison, Texas, USA
Living In: Ardmore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenn71
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
I've never tried Challah before, so I have nothing to compare it to. That being said, this is a really good bread and very simple recipe. It turned out perfect! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I've made this twice now and both times have been delicious! I haven't braided it like traditional Challah bread so it came out super-fluffy since it didn't have a whole lot of extra handling. The last time I made it, I ran out of white flour and finished with whole wheat flour (still turned out great). I have also added chives to give it an eggy-herby taste. A+!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Thank you for this great and very easy recipe! Yesterday was my very first time that i made a bread, Thanks to your recipe was really easy and great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Luv this recipe..was easy to assemble and taste delicious, still I had to add a little anise and some golden raisins, not to mention a little egg wash, just to give it that beautiful shiny crust. just perfection! Some fresh churned butter and I was in heaven...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chae's Aphrodisiac Recipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 397) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

French Baguettes

A bread machine makes quick work of the dough for these delicious baguettes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States