Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I've been baking bread for almost 30 years. This recipe was one of the most exact I have ever followed and the bread, if not the best certainly one of the best I have ever made. Sweet, perfect crumb and crust, I added nothing, changed nothing and will be making this over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEAKSPEAK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emmaus, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Keene, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
This made a really yummy challah with a little sweetness. It was light and soft with a slightly crunchy crust. I really loved it! It also was not much work considering the outcome. I would recommend this simple and good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I followed exact. used for french toast, Than the following day used as buttered toast. Best toast ever~~~ Next time I am adding some white sugar just to sweeten it a bit.... Overall, GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Great recipe! I did cut in half and did 1/2 cup honey. My Stepson (20yrs. old.) said it was his new favorite bread and I should make it once a week! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I've made this a few times now - it never seems to rise as much as the recipe suggests, but it does tast yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Just how I remember the smell and taste of this bread as a child.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
After first rise, you can refrigerate overnight which makes braiding much easier but allow for extra rise time using the finger indent test. I glaze with 1 egg, 1T olive oil and 1T white sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I've never had Challah and so don't know what it actually taste like. Followed recipe, bread came out nice but taste a little bland for me. Thanks for sharing anyway :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DemonicMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
This recipe is perfect. It makes two delicious loaves of challah. I don't add or change anything about it and it comes out perfect every time. Every one who has tried it asks me to make it again and my kids have some much fun with braiding it. Thanks for the delicious recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mission, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
This is the BEST! I'm no longer allowed to come to Shabbat dinner without bringing this Challah. What I've tweaked: the honey--I normally count to four while pouring it out. And I disregard the flour amount. I use as much as the weather requires. DO NOT change the amount of oil, I tried and it came out with disastrous results! Thank you thank you, I'm now the favorite guest and no Friday night dinner party starts without it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 401) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

French Baguettes

A bread machine makes quick work of the dough for these delicious baguettes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States