Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Photo by Amanda Tr
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Every time I make this recipe it is a big hit.I follow the recipe exactly except that I use either all whole wheat or mostly whole wheat flour and I leave off the poppy-seeds. It also seems to bake MUCH faster then the recipe suggest that it will. I usually take it out at 25 minutes and it's perfectly done. I don't know if this is because I bake it on a pizza stone. I like peoples ideas with adding honey to the glaze. Maybe I'll try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Tr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lherman
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Amazing flavor. Perfect bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lherman

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I used molasses instead of honey for this. It wasn't very sweet or eggy, but I did add extra flour, so that might've been the cause. My result tasted like a regular white bread, with a crunchy crust and soft interior. I'm gonna use it for my sandwiches. Though I expected something more dessert like, this is pretty good already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
This recipe was simple and delicious! Will try with raisins and a sweet spread next time. Made for excellent french toast the next day, as well. There is a great video on youtube on how to make a 6 strand braided loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I will start off by saying I am not an expert bread baker by any stretch of the imagination. I made this bread last night and I was a little disappointed. It had a strange flavor to me ( maybe it's the honey? an ingredient I don't really love) and was very dense. This is not light and fluffy at all but heavy and a little on the dry side ( I only let mine go for 23 minutes and they were still dry). I used this for french toast so it wasn't a total loss. However after spending all of that time on something I am not 100% thrilled with, I would choose a different recipe in the future. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Good bread and made great french toast as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Milford, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Fantastic! I have never made bread that required kneading, so I was a little worried, but it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Globe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I'll give this a 4 star only because the bread itself was pretty good. I halved the recipe, the dough was extremely sticky, I probably added in an extra 1/2+cup of flour, still a bit sticky but was afraid to put in more. My bread didn't come out braided. As it was doing the 2nd rise, it pretty much melded back together and I basically ended up with what looked like a loaf of french bread. I might try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
This was my first time making this type of bread, it's super good! came out more dense than i imagined but it's sooo good. followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
I'm not a baker, but this recipe made me look like a pro. I unashamedly admit that I nearly ate the whole loaf. I was initially worried that the flour started clumping when adding to liquid, but it was fine. I used my Kitchen Aid, but put it away prematurely - after initial rise, will knead one by hand and one with Kitchen Aid next time. I baked my first loaf for 28 min and it was almost burnt; the second for just under 20 min. The second loaf TRUMPED the first. DO NOT BAKE FOR RECOMMENDED TIME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThnkThn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 428) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

French Baguettes

A bread machine makes quick work of the dough for these delicious baguettes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States