Chalau Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This was a huge hit! Followed recipe only doubled the spices. I cooked the lamb mix the night before then next morning put in a crock pot to simmer the day away. Added the spinach and cilantro about half an hour before serving...AMAZING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Solid. I didn't have any cilantro, used half the suggested oil and used a cup of water and half a cup of milk. Ended up adding quite a bit more spice than recommended, and about 2 tbsps of lemon juice. Also threw in 4 stems of mint. Everyone liked it, and I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Very easy and very tasty. I cooked the night before and added the spinach and cilantro the next day. I will suggest to cook the veg for only 5 min so it won't get soggy. I also heat the cumin seed, haharat and pinch of salt in a sauce pan and then add them to the stew with the veggies. It's really a very tasty dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eli2884

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darryl
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I thought this was fantastic! Made it with full oil too. Great as is, but may try the tomatoes and even potatoes as suggested in other comments for a different taste. Also, might want to pump up the cayenne as it wasn't very spicy dish at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
This is a great recipe. I was worried about it being too watery at first so i let it cook an extra 10 minutes. once it was finished i put the rice on a platter and poured the meat and gravy down the middle making a straight line. i added some cilantro around the side for decoration
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
I'm giving this only 4 stars because I used the recipe only as a base, adding variations suggested by other reviewers. I used leftover grilled lamb kebabs from Easter, which were already well spiced with cumin and coriander. To that base I added canned tomato and chickpeas, as suggested by others, plus the rest of the recipe ingredients. It made a great stew that was wonderful over the basmati rice and was not too spicy for the kids (I added harisa to mine to pump up the heat!). Thanks for a good recipe and thanks to the other reviewers for making it great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNIEMILANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kensington, Maryland, USA
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
We found this bland and boring, and I used LOTS of cayenne,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
I did not like this recipe at all but I served it at a party and my guests seemed to enjoy it enough to finish it. I gave it a three because of this...not because of my own opinion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
Absolutely wonderful. While I was eating it I said, "This tastes like something I'd order at a restaurant!" The modifications I made were to cut the water to 1/2 cup and add 8 oz. of tomato sauce. I also added a dash of poultry seasoning, two dashes of paprika, cornstarch to thicken, a lot of chopped mushrooms, a handful of snowpeas, and a couple handfuls of fresh Italian parsley. I served it not with rice, but with Indian Naan bread (from a recipe on this site) Wowie! Thank you for this gem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chouli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Solna, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
We loved this recipe. I rarely cook lamb, so it's nice to have a good recipe. However, like most of the other reviewers, the oil was a problem. My sisters said, "It's enough oil to kill an Eskimo!" Next time, I will use just 2T oil to saute the vegetables & meat, then use plain rice rather than fried rice. That will be 2T rather than 3/4c oil! We didn't have fresh spinach, so I thawed & drained some frozen spinach & it was fine. I will use fresh next time. I think I will also try the seasoned flour coating for the lamb to see how that turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Biryani

Watch how to make this top-rated Indian dish.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States