Chakchouka (Shakshouka) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
I love huevos rancheros and actually found this recipe while doing a search for a recipe for that. This seemed exotic and interesting and I like trying new things. I enjoyed it and would probably make it again but I can't say it jumped to the front of my list of favorite breakfast recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
This was something different to try. I would make it again. Didn't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I love shakshouka and this is the recipe that I use. In Israel, this is usually served in the pan and some restaurants cook it right at your table. A great thing about shakshouka is that you can make it "your own" with personal additions of vegetables that you like to the sauce. Yummy yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dekkel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Dallas, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
This is a great recipe, but I recommend using at least a tbsp each of cumin and smoked paprika, and I finish it with fresh cilantro. I also like to add browned lamb or pork sausage (without the casings) at the beginning. Serve it with naan bread, and you have an awesome breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
This is a great recipe. I made it as directed. My skillet is enameled cast iron and it took a little longer than 10 minutes to cook off the juices from the tomatoes. The consistency and flavor was great and my husband approved. We had it for dinner with a side of Spanish rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Thanks for posting this--saves me having to call friends in Tunisia as I always forget an ingredient. I first had it at the home of some new Tunisian friends in the late 1960s and learned that to refer to Shakshooka in Arabic means throwing in a bunch of seasonal ingredients on hand (but something like a disorganized dresser drawer could also be described as "Shakshooka"). Like cous-cous and briks I look forward to eating it every time I go back to Tunisia, but need reminders when I try to make it in the U.S. I'm kind of thinking there is parsley in it too sometimes? At least I add some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann Marie Natal
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
This was super simple and quick to make. It was flavorful as well as nutritious. Cilantro goes really well with these kind of flavors. Good meal to have for brunch along with bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Natal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by beau
Reviewed: May 9, 2014
Adding one jalapeño gives it an awesome kick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Awesome recipe! Turned out well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Wow. A recipe that is tasty, easy, quick, DELICIOUS, cheap, healthy, and has easy clean up? Pinch me. I have to be dreaming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chakchouka Shakshouka

Learn how to make this tomato-based Middle-Eastern breakfast with eggs!

Potato and Pepper Frittata

See how to make an amazing potato and pepper lunch or brunch treat.

Mom's Potato Latkes

Crispy, fried potato patties you can serve up for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States