Chai Tea Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Avon- status quo PRO
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Recipe group recipe for this week. Like some of the others, I did find it to be a weaker tea than I personally like, but I also took the suggestion of another reviewer and opened up the tea bag and added the ground cardamom and cinnamon along with the whole peppercorns to one bag. I steeped 2 bags to 2 cups of water and that helped a lot. Chai generally is a sweet tea so I did add a generous amount of sugar and cream and it did make a nice and refreshing end to a long week. Next time, I'll add more spices and kick it up some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I made this for "recipe group" 12/26/2011. As a couple of reviewers mentioned this does have a weak flavor, unless I have just become accustomed to the chai tea bags at the store. I cut the recipe in half to 3 servings. I just microwaved the water and spices. Then, I added the tea bags and sugar and let it sit the 5 minutes. I had all the spices except cardamom. On-line I found that nutmeg is an acceptable subtitute, so I just added a couple pinches of ground nutmeg. With the cost of cinnamon sticks, I think it still would be more affordable to buy chai tea bags for $3 dollars a box. Either way, I like the recipe for chai latte on here, so I added a little steamed milk, sprayed whipped cream, and extra cinnamon on top. It was more flavored than regular tea, I just wouldn't think exactly of chai. It was nice on this cold evening though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
weak!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
This recipe is SO GOOD! I loved it so much! But you know I have to agree it was a little bit to plain and bland for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Okay, I imagined this a much darker tea and, I agree with the others in the fact that it was a little "weak". Not the spices themselves but just the tea flavor. I did scale the recipe down but I still think it needs more tea bags. I didn't have cinnamon sticks but used ground instead. Maybe this was why it reddened up? Not sure but all in all it did have a good flavor combo and I will make it again once I get the sticks. The way I see it, "weak" is very fixable when the all over flavor is good.******update******I made this again and used quite a bit of milk this time and it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
If you ground the spices and add them into the teabag (its what I usually do, then i carefully staple the bag shut) and boil it for a while, the oils from the spices actually blend in with the flavor of the tea. I'm rating it 4 stars because I love the combination of spices - these are my favorite spices, and it's a joy to be able to drink them in tea (whihc is also my favorite beverage.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mad Izatie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
I also found this recipe a little too bland, so the next time round I used ground cardamon and cinnamon, the pepper corms and the sugar. It still needed a bit more oomph, so I added 1/4 tsp each nutmeg and cloves, and a piece of candied ginger. It now suits my taste much better but I may tweak it a bit further. I've been put on a dairy-free diet. A cup of tea without milk in it is too hard to adapt to, so I'm on the lookout for an acceptable replacement hot drink in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
I have to agree, this is very weak. I add allspice, ginger and cloves and let simmer at least 20-30 mins. Then it varies between ok and good, but not fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2001
Very weak compared to other chai I've tried, both commercial cartons of chai and restaurant chai. I compared this recipe with a couple others I found in a cookbook, and they added whole allspice and simmered the mixture for 10-20 minutes. That should improve the intensity of the flavor but, as is, this is far too weak and bland, even before the addition of any milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States