Chai Tea Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This is so bastardized to the American version of sugar sugar sugar!!! The WHOLE point of Chai Tea is about balancing your system, firing it up a bit to support your immune system and adding protein to ground you and give you substance. This recipe knocks your body way out of whack and completely negates the purpose of the tea in the first place. Plus adding all of the packaged food items with the chemicals and preservatives is just sacrilegious! Uckkkk!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I usually buy Dunkin Donuts' Vanilla Chai Tea, but lately it doesn't have that chai taste. It just tastes like sweetened vanilla tea. After finding and trying this recipe, I'm in heaven!! I followed the recipe w/o making any changes to it except for cutting recipe in half. I prefer to make a batch here and there so as not to have the chai tea mixture go stale. I prepared it with my 'bullet' appliance, and it came out to a nice very fine powdery texture. I will try it next with a small Cusinart processor to see if there is consistency with the texture compared to the 'bullet'. Now, I rarely go to Dunkin Donuts to have there mixture b/c mine tastes much better! Thank you, Joe, for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I made this using the extra spices listed in the title. I did use 1/2 cup less sugar & it seemed plenty sweet enough. However it did not seem "creamy" enough so I recommend adding it to milk rather than water or adding a splash of cream after you mix it up. The flavor is very good, but you may need to add a bit more mix to your liquid depending on how many ounces of liquid you use. I may experiment adding more spices, especially cardamom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
I try to avoid dairy, so I left out the milk powder and creamers and just blended the spices, tea, and sugar, and added it to a steamed cup of soy milk. It turned out really well! I'm not the biggest fan of ginger, so next time I'm going to use a little less ginger and a little more cardamom to add some spice. Thanks for the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
My 4 kids loved this recipe! I substituted sugar in the raw for regular white sugar and added only half of the cardamon. Makes it and watch it disappear! Makes an awesome gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Next time I make this I won't use the French vanilla creamer and I'll cut the sugar way back. Too sweet for me but the spices were great. I hate instant tea, but you can't taste the "instant" in this at all. I added the nutmeg and allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I think this with extra spices is better than Oregon chai, and that stuff is pretty great! I didn't use non dairy creamer (that stuff is horrible)...I just substituted more nf milk powder and mixed 1/2 cornstarch and 1/2 sugar to make the 1 cup measure....I am in heaven....I am sending my mom and sister in law some!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Almost everyone I know loves chai but hates the cost of buying it at a retail establishment. Plus, I wanted to be able to make a quick cup at home in the microwave and also give a mix for New Year gifts. I used all the suggested ingredients. I followed this recipe exactly, with the exception of reducing the sugar by one cup. The creamers already had sweetener added, and I don't like overly sweet beverages. Next time I will make this with Truvia, but since this batch is for gifts I used sugar. Also, I could not find instant tea mix that did not state it was for iced tea, and I assumed instant iced tea mix would work (without lemon or sugar added by the manufacturer). I realized as I mixed the ingredients that my blender would not hold all the ingredients, so I first poured the full amount into a large pitcher and shook it to try to distribute the ingredients evenly. Then I put half into the blender and blended on mix, followed by whip. I repeated this step with the other half, then poured both halves back into the big pitcher and shook it some more. I wanted to be sure the ingredients were mixed throughout. The results are a very fine powder that mixes well with hot water and tastes divine. I figure each cup costs about 30 cents to make, maybe less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Very good, best when made with milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This Chai Tea mix has become a staple in our household! Quick, convenient, and having the perfect blend of spices......it has become our favorite. I'm sure this recipe will become yours as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 787) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States