Chai Tea Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Natalia Nieto
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
I tweaked this recipe a bit and it turned out wonderfully! I followed the advice of other reviewers and cut the sugar in half. I also skipped cardamom and ginger powder because I couldn't find any. I just doubled the amount of All Spice to replace those items. It still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalia Nieto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
Thank you, thank you, thank you, Jo, for this recipe. I recently became a fan of Chai Latte -- where have you been all of my life -- and found a delicious brand that I've really enjoyed, but it has regular sugar in it. I prefer to use organic sugar and set out to find a brand that tasted the same with organic sugar -- nothing came close. I purchased the ingredients for this Chai yesterday and have enjoyed 4 cups already - so delicious, even better than the brand I had purchased! I did cut back the sugar a little to less than 2 cups and I agree that slightly less cardamom would make for a better brew. I will cut it back in future batches for there WILL be many!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Love this! I substituted 1 and 1/2 cup of sweetener for the sugar, and left out the cardamon (too pricey for the limited amount I need - will add for the next batch). I also used sugar free creamers as well. If I did the math correctly - each cup is now about 50 calories.....versus over 300 at the famous coffee place. WINNER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Osborn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jean
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I love it !! Thank you so much for such a great recipe. I don't change anything in it. Now my 12 year old son likes Chai tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I rarely leave reviews for recipes I try, but this one is worth a review. This tastes great and is really easy to prepare. I used the recipe as is, including the nutmeg, allspice and white pepper. The only difference was, I used a spice grinder instead of a food processor. Thanks Jo for a great recipe. I'm enjoying a cup as I write this review. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I forgot powdered milk at the store, so I doubled the plain creamer. I also omitted the cardimom since it was $11 for a small jar. I added 1tsp. allspice and 1tsp. nutmeg. I just made a cup with 3tbsp and hot water and it's delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
I made several batches of this recipe to enjoy over the holidays and to give as gifts. I've made it before and thought it turned out well, but I made 2 changes this year that were more in keeping with the recipe and were well worth the time and effort. As several readers suggested, I included cardamom. Previously I didn't add it because 1) I wasn't familiar with it, 2) couldn't find it in the supermarket and 3)when I did find it the price was $51/pound. I only needed 1 teaspoon per "batch", so I went to our local Earth Fare and was able to purchase it in as small a quantity as I needed because they have bulk spices in jars and small plastic bags to self-serve fill as needed. I paid $1.07 for a couple of teaspoons. Quite a great deal! The second thing I did was to use my food processor to make a smoother mix which prevents the spices from gathering at the bottom of the mug in crunchy pieces. Makes for a much smoother drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Ann Rowan Kiraly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I just tried making this and when I poured a cup it curled and looked watery. What did I do wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
OMGoodness...tastes delicious! Though some of the ingredients were difficult to find, the reward is tasting the finished product...just as good as purchasing a steaming cup from any coffee shop, if not better! Will make great gift items to any and all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Dumont

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
This is wonderful, and the spice mix with pepper and nutmeg is PERFECT - one of the best I have ever had. I will make up some of the spice mix to use every day with my own brewed tea. I reduced the sugar as suggested by earlier reviewers, because most Chai mixes are too sweet for me. I made vanilla sugar with one cup of granulated sugar, instead of the vanilla creamer. Rather than try to whir all the powder, instead I used a little coffee/spice grinder and put the spices (including the nutmeg and black pepper) in there with 1/2 cup of the vanilla sugar and powdered it all. That worked very well, and really opened up the flavors and heat of the spices. Two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 812) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States