Chai Tea Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jean
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I love it !! Thank you so much for such a great recipe. I don't change anything in it. Now my 12 year old son likes Chai tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I rarely leave reviews for recipes I try, but this one is worth a review. This tastes great and is really easy to prepare. I used the recipe as is, including the nutmeg, allspice and white pepper. The only difference was, I used a spice grinder instead of a food processor. Thanks Jo for a great recipe. I'm enjoying a cup as I write this review. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I forgot powdered milk at the store, so I doubled the plain creamer. I also omitted the cardimom since it was $11 for a small jar. I added 1tsp. allspice and 1tsp. nutmeg. I just made a cup with 3tbsp and hot water and it's delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
I made several batches of this recipe to enjoy over the holidays and to give as gifts. I've made it before and thought it turned out well, but I made 2 changes this year that were more in keeping with the recipe and were well worth the time and effort. As several readers suggested, I included cardamom. Previously I didn't add it because 1) I wasn't familiar with it, 2) couldn't find it in the supermarket and 3)when I did find it the price was $51/pound. I only needed 1 teaspoon per "batch", so I went to our local Earth Fare and was able to purchase it in as small a quantity as I needed because they have bulk spices in jars and small plastic bags to self-serve fill as needed. I paid $1.07 for a couple of teaspoons. Quite a great deal! The second thing I did was to use my food processor to make a smoother mix which prevents the spices from gathering at the bottom of the mug in crunchy pieces. Makes for a much smoother drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Ann Rowan Kiraly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I just tried making this and when I poured a cup it curled and looked watery. What did I do wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
OMGoodness...tastes delicious! Though some of the ingredients were difficult to find, the reward is tasting the finished product...just as good as purchasing a steaming cup from any coffee shop, if not better! Will make great gift items to any and all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Dumont

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
This is wonderful, and the spice mix with pepper and nutmeg is PERFECT - one of the best I have ever had. I will make up some of the spice mix to use every day with my own brewed tea. I reduced the sugar as suggested by earlier reviewers, because most Chai mixes are too sweet for me. I made vanilla sugar with one cup of granulated sugar, instead of the vanilla creamer. Rather than try to whir all the powder, instead I used a little coffee/spice grinder and put the spices (including the nutmeg and black pepper) in there with 1/2 cup of the vanilla sugar and powdered it all. That worked very well, and really opened up the flavors and heat of the spices. Two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
This recipe rocked! I just finished making a double batch that I've put into 8oz mason jars and I am placing them in my Christmas gift baskets (along with cookies) to my friends this year. One batch makes will fill (7) 8oz jars. In the meantime I enjoyed a cup (or two). It was absolutely delicious!! I made a 3rd batch to keep on hand this winter. I made the recipe as is-no changes-and it was perfect!! Thank you so much for posting this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
I made this and the flavor was incredible!!! But when I got to the bottom of the mug, there was a lot of sediment that was pretty unpleasant. I want to love it because the first 2/3 of the mug were awesome, but can't get over the slime at the bottom. I was going to make some to give as gifts, glad I tried it first. I was able to avoid the residue by placing the mix inside my tea ball infuser....Again I will say the flavor of this mix is fantastic!!! So glad I found a way to enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELALALALA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 809) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States