Chai Latte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by PamMar
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I love chai tea but what I love more are chai tea lattes. Now I don't have to go to a coffee house to get my fix. I didn't have goats milk so I used half and half and it worked wonderfully. I did heat up the half and half with a frother. Thanks Lisa for this cup of yumminess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PamMar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I love the coffee house brand of Chai Latte and I get it all the time. I made this just now but made some change due to no goats milk and cardamon, I made the tea as directed but added a pkt of Splenda and sugar-free Vanilla caramel coffemate(aout a Tbls) and a splash of milk. Its delicous and low cal and low fat. I would think that the cardamon would add a little more chai flavor so next time I will add it. Im enjoying this variation very much. Sorry I hate when people change it and then rate it but wanted to share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodeliciousCraig'sWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
OK this is even better than the chai tea I loved it a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
I didn't have goat's milk or cardamom, so I used whole (3.25%) milk and cinnamon. I must admit I am a loyal Second Cup chai latte fan and this really doesn't compare. For one, this beverage lacks the light foam that adds a little body and sits at the top. Secondly, the recipe mainly relies on the tea bag to produce spicy aroma and taste of chai; even if I had had the cardamom it wouldn't be enough to give it the signature flavour. I'm wondering if goat's milk is denser than cow's milk... I think if additional "chai spices" were infused in the dairy part of the beverage and frothed before adding to the water and tea bag, this would be fantastic. This could potentially be good using a thick coconut milk too. Hmm... Will try this again with tweaks to achieve the latte I have in mind, but I'll settle for this as a standard for drinking chai without being a latte (in doing so, I'd use 1/2 an ounce of milk).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Great!!! I loved it! I didn't have goat's milk though so I used Half n' Half cream instead! I didn't go by the exact measurements, but I played it by ear and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I went to the store for goat's milk as soon as I saw this recipe. This was a VERY great latte! The store I went to had cardamom for 9 dollars! This was the first time I had ever even seen a recipe with cardamom so I skipped it and went for cinnamon instead. I will have no problem finishing off the goats milk because I will be drinking this again and again. The goats milk gives this drink richer flavor and taste just like a chai latte from Starbucks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I used cream instead of goat's milk and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
I thought this was as good as anything that could be bought at a coffee shop for $5. I had to laugh for a little when I read goat's milk. I wouldn't even know where to get that. I knew I could subtitute another dairy milk product no problem. I ended up using half and half because that is what I had in the house. I liked that it used chai tea bags instead of the longer process of simmering different spices. They were actually really affordable. I found it at Whole Foods for about $3 dollars a box. I microwaved the water, for 1 minute, then followed through with the rest of the recipe. I topped it with whipped cream and sprinkled it with nutmeg. I read on-line that nutmeg was an acceptable subtitute for cardamon, which can be pricey and hard to find. I am going to try this again with fat free half and half and a packet of Truvia. I am sure it will not be as good but it will be guilt free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
One of my most favorite treats. To give it a little kick mid-day, sometimes I'll add a shot of espresso. Honey or vanilla coffee creamer is also good in place of the granulated sugar and goats milk. GREAT night time drink before bedtime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

How to Make a Latte

See how easy it is to make your favorite espresso drink at home.

Chef John’s Pork al Latte

Pork is simmered in crème fraiche and broth until impossibly tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States