Chai Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Even though this recipe is for 12 cupcakes it seemed like a bit much, so I halved it. For me 1/2 was perfect for 12 cupcakes. I took another review's advice to add cardamom to my frosting to add more taste. I think next time I might actually double the amount of tea bags that I use because I would have liked a better punch of flavor. But my coworkers gave me good reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I liked this idea and it pairs well with a yellow cake, but the consistency was just too loose. I tweeked it a bit by adding a little more margarine and less sugar, while adding a dash of salt (subdues the overwhelming buttery flavor and sweetness).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna Marvin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I really liked this recipe but it doesn't taste enough like chai. I added clove to the recipe and it was amazing. Matched with a dark chocolate cupcake they were perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Definitely not bad. I doctored it up like other reviewers with cinnamon, cloves and nutmeg to help bring out the taste. I also simmered in milk. The consistency "problem" other experienced will be solved if you add only some of the sugar in first, than pour the chai in tablespoons and repeat. Or at least that helped me. Downside-this has a very definite buttery taste. May need to add additional flavoring to bring out more of the chai.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
This was an "OK" recipe in my book. It was very thin, did not hold it's shape when piped from decorating bag with tip. Everyone did enjoy the flavor, but I was disappointed with the texture and consistency. I made it with yellow cupcakes, added french vanilla pudding to cake mix. Decorated with small amount of frosting and topped with a glazed walnut and a dusting of cinnamon. Might try again, depending upon request for these cupcakes again or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Van Markwyk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorktown Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sugaryinmd
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Loved the flavor. I had to alter the recipe slightly - I only used about 1/3 of the milk and tea liquid because more then that would have made the icing way too liquidy (especially if you want to try and pipe with it). I used Bigelow Vanilla Chai Tea and the flavor of the icing was so yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugaryinmd

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fort Washington, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bryans Road, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
The only reason I did not give 5 stars was because the flavor was very light. I was expecting more of a Chai flavor. Also when I added the powdered sugar it didn't mix with the whipped butter, so I had to add the liquid right away. However the frosting has a nice flavor that would be good on carrot cake, in place of cream cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
It was really good! Everyone in my family enjoyed it! Though I didn't have chai tea in bags, so I put 1 1/2 tbsp in the milk heated it and let it cool then put it in! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I loved his recipe. I did change a couple of things. I steeped the chai tea bags in simmering milk instead of water, I added some cardomon, cloves, cinnamon,and ginger to get a speckled effect. I also added two tablespoons of powdered meringue to get a stiffer consistency. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
The flavor is excellent when using Stash's Premium Chai Spice Black Tea. My only gripe is that my batch turned out a bit runny and has more the consistency of the icing you'd find on cinnamon buns. I added a lot of extra powdered sugar and still couldn't get it to stiffen quite right. I'm tossing it in the fridge to cool down before trying to crumb coat with it. For those wanting a truly yummy chai flavor, might I suggest trying to work with the powdered chai mix from Tasteful Simply? It's called Oh My! Chai, and has been my absolute favorite chai of all of the various brands I've tasted. The fact that it is a powdered mix instead of tea bags might work to the advantage of stiffening the mix a bit too. I would have used it today, but alas, I am out. - I am willing to give this recipe another try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Comstock Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States