Chai Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2007
i really liked this recipe. i used it as filling for a butter cake, and mixed in shredded dark chocolate for a little extra taste. simple and delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
As an icing this is really good, it's a bit soft for a true buttercream. I added one extra tea bag to my 1/4 c water and I could just taste the tea. I might even suggest using 4 tea bags if you want a noticeable chai flavor. I used this to fill and crumb coat my birthday cake, then I covered it with the rolled buttercream fondant. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
so amazing!! had this as one of the cupcake frostings at my wedding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I liked the flavor of this a lot. It was a little too runny without adding more powdered sugar, which hid the chai flavor. A great solution when you don't have all the right chai spices on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MessMakerBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
This buttercream is wonderful!! Especially on chocolate cake. Only one thing I had to change, you never want to put any tea into "boiling" water. Bring water to a boil, remove from heat, after it quits bubbling, then add tea bags.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Casper, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Glenrock, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
The flavor is excellent when using Stash's Premium Chai Spice Black Tea. My only gripe is that my batch turned out a bit runny and has more the consistency of the icing you'd find on cinnamon buns. I added a lot of extra powdered sugar and still couldn't get it to stiffen quite right. I'm tossing it in the fridge to cool down before trying to crumb coat with it. For those wanting a truly yummy chai flavor, might I suggest trying to work with the powdered chai mix from Tasteful Simply? It's called Oh My! Chai, and has been my absolute favorite chai of all of the various brands I've tasted. The fact that it is a powdered mix instead of tea bags might work to the advantage of stiffening the mix a bit too. I would have used it today, but alas, I am out. - I am willing to give this recipe another try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Comstock Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Definitely not bad. I doctored it up like other reviewers with cinnamon, cloves and nutmeg to help bring out the taste. I also simmered in milk. The consistency "problem" other experienced will be solved if you add only some of the sugar in first, than pour the chai in tablespoons and repeat. Or at least that helped me. Downside-this has a very definite buttery taste. May need to add additional flavoring to bring out more of the chai.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I really liked this recipe but it doesn't taste enough like chai. I added clove to the recipe and it was amazing. Matched with a dark chocolate cupcake they were perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I liked this idea and it pairs well with a yellow cake, but the consistency was just too loose. I tweeked it a bit by adding a little more margarine and less sugar, while adding a dash of salt (subdues the overwhelming buttery flavor and sweetness).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna Marvin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Even though this recipe is for 12 cupcakes it seemed like a bit much, so I halved it. For me 1/2 was perfect for 12 cupcakes. I took another review's advice to add cardamom to my frosting to add more taste. I think next time I might actually double the amount of tea bags that I use because I would have liked a better punch of flavor. But my coworkers gave me good reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States