Chai Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
This buttercream is wonderful!! Especially on chocolate cake. Only one thing I had to change, you never want to put any tea into "boiling" water. Bring water to a boil, remove from heat, after it quits bubbling, then add tea bags.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Casper, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Glenrock, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
i really liked this recipe. i used it as filling for a butter cake, and mixed in shredded dark chocolate for a little extra taste. simple and delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
Great frosting recipe when it comes to the consistency. I've tried two other recipes on here that were crapola, but this once has a great, firm texture. I give it 4/5 stars, however, because I personally didn't find the taste of the chai to be strong enough over the sugar (I combated this by adding extra cinnamon, nutmeg, and clove). I'll definitely reference this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
This was nice for a frosting. The chai was subtle enough that it wasn't overwhelming but i also only used a tablespoon of the chai water. The recipe itself is huge and i think the proportions were off a little bit for the thickness i wanted for my cookies. I cut the recipe in half because i didnt need that much but it was so watery i had to keep adding more sugar. I would suggest mixing everything else first and then adding the sugar until you get the consistency you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rika

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ellensburg, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Didn't have much of a true Chai taste to it. I added ground cinnamon and settled on it as a vanilla with a subtle taste of Chai...perhaps using less sugar would solve the problem? It yields quite a bit of icing as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beautyinsimplicity
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
As an icing this is really good, it's a bit soft for a true buttercream. I added one extra tea bag to my 1/4 c water and I could just taste the tea. I might even suggest using 4 tea bags if you want a noticeable chai flavor. I used this to fill and crumb coat my birthday cake, then I covered it with the rolled buttercream fondant. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I liked the flavor of this a lot. It was a little too runny without adding more powdered sugar, which hid the chai flavor. A great solution when you don't have all the right chai spices on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MessMakerBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
so amazing!! had this as one of the cupcake frostings at my wedding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
The flavor is excellent when using Stash's Premium Chai Spice Black Tea. My only gripe is that my batch turned out a bit runny and has more the consistency of the icing you'd find on cinnamon buns. I added a lot of extra powdered sugar and still couldn't get it to stiffen quite right. I'm tossing it in the fridge to cool down before trying to crumb coat with it. For those wanting a truly yummy chai flavor, might I suggest trying to work with the powdered chai mix from Tasteful Simply? It's called Oh My! Chai, and has been my absolute favorite chai of all of the various brands I've tasted. The fact that it is a powdered mix instead of tea bags might work to the advantage of stiffening the mix a bit too. I would have used it today, but alas, I am out. - I am willing to give this recipe another try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Comstock Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I loved his recipe. I did change a couple of things. I steeped the chai tea bags in simmering milk instead of water, I added some cardomon, cloves, cinnamon,and ginger to get a speckled effect. I also added two tablespoons of powdered meringue to get a stiffer consistency. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States