Chai Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
This recipe was INCREDIBLE! My best friend loves chai so i made the homemade chai and these cookies for christmas. She loved them, as did I! They resemble a gingersnap but are not as crisp, and they have a very original flavor to them that is just like chai! The only thing i changed was not squashing the cookies with fork tongs as they looked prettier spreading out themselves, and i baked them 15 minutes. You MUST try these cookies and the chai tea mix in this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Tasty, but skip the salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
How cool is this? An allrecipes recipe within an allrecipes recipe! I've been a fan of the chai tea mix recipe for a while now, so I was excited to try these cookies. They are pretty good. They are a hard cookie, but they have great flavor. My dad said they tasted like pumpkin pie in a cookie! I think they are a lot like gingersnaps. I highly recommend making the chai tea mix - it's a lot more economical than buying the packets. I used an 1/8 cup measure to get walnut size and ended up with 35 cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bex Slaughter
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
These were great! I burnt the first batch so I turned it down to 375 and they came out perfect. I also added 1 Tbs of Almond extract. Caffeinated cookies, how awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bex Slaughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
I have a slightly different version of this recipe. I used 2/3 cup shortening with 1/4 cup butter, light brown sugar to compliment the Chai drink powder, sweetened it with 1/2 tsp cinnamon and added 1 cup Guittard White Chips. They come out chewy and crispy at the same time. Hard to do. The flavor is to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Boring, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
Very tasting! Good recipe if your looking for something a little unique. They did come out a bit too satly, next time I would only add 1 teaspoon of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
This cookie came out tasting a bit bland. It was spongy and did not mix well, I feel like it was lacking some ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Dough tasted great but the finished cookies were a shapeless and tasteless mess :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I think this recipe needs some work. The batter is dry, not to dry to roll into balls though. I baked the first batch at 400 and they came out hard so I lowered the temp to 350 and that seemed to work out better. I think that this recipe needs some more liquid or less flour. One thing I did was melt some white chocolate and drizzled it over the top, not only did they look nice it tasted pretty good to. I probably wouldn't make these again, not that they are bad, but they just didn't 'WOW' me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
I made this recipe tonight. I used David Rio Giraffe Decaf powdered chai mix. These were great! Next time I might try a stronger chai to make them even spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make America’s favorite cookie.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States