Chai Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Tasty, but skip the salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
These are tasty!! I used my smallest cookie scoop and I am now swimming in chai cookies but thats not a bad thing! I thought these might be too sweet with the sugar in the chai mix but they turned out perfect. This one is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
How cool is this? An allrecipes recipe within an allrecipes recipe! I've been a fan of the chai tea mix recipe for a while now, so I was excited to try these cookies. They are pretty good. They are a hard cookie, but they have great flavor. My dad said they tasted like pumpkin pie in a cookie! I think they are a lot like gingersnaps. I highly recommend making the chai tea mix - it's a lot more economical than buying the packets. I used an 1/8 cup measure to get walnut size and ended up with 35 cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Cookies were good but a little hard
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
I like the flavor of the cookies, but they burned on the bottom and got really crunchy even though I only baked them for 8 min. They taste like gingersnaps without the molasses. Next time I will lower the oven temp and replace half the white sugar with brown sugar. I'll let you know how it turns out. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth McMillion

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wapella, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
These cookies get quite hard and crunchy and are absolutely perfect for dipping in coffee or in your chai tea. Very popular in my household. I made the recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
A big cookie hit in my house! I used an instant Chai Tea mix from my pantry. It gave it a wonderful buttery Chai flavor, very similar to gingersnaps, but chewy, not crispy. Love 'em! My son, a culinary student, said "These cookies are addicting!" Thanks to the review warning from Nanpie, I was prepared for my hand mixer to be overworked. My poor mixer motor started to smell like it was burning. I added a couple of tablespoons of cold water intermittently to the batter as I folded in the dry mix. Be careful not to add too much. This recipe actually yielded 5-1/2 dozen nice sized cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBDAN54

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA
Living In: Merrillville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
I purchased chai latte mix as did some of the other reviewers. Cookies have subtle gingersnap flavor and light crunch. Will go very nicely with tea or coffee. Baking for 9 minutes was perfect. Note-dough was pretty stiff. My poor ol' hand mixer about gave out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Daphne, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
These cookies taste amazing!! I used General Foods Chai Latte mix rather than making my own -- still wonderful!! It made more than the recipe said but they will disappear in no time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
Delicious! I used a chai latte mix (Chamba Chai) and wasn't certain if the non-latte mix indicated was sweetened. Because of this I used only 1/3 Cup sugar. Next time I'll try using a little more sugar and a little less baking powder, which I could taste a bit in the baked cookie. Despite that...the texture was wonderful, a cross between peanut butter and shortbread cookies. I only baked them for 8-9 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make America’s favorite cookie.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States