Chad's Slow Cooker Taco Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
I liked it and had a regular size bowl with crackers and added some hot sauce when it was finished... It definitely tasted way better the next day as left overs. But my boyfriend on the other hand LOVED it! He tried it the first time as left overs the next day and literally ate half the crock pot if not more! (When I came home from work there was only enough for a bowl). He raved about the beer. All he talked about was how the beer set it off, gave it that extra humph. To me the beer taste was a tad too much and was definitely there but the "soup" (chili) had the perfect amount of spice. It was thick and hearty. Instead of a 1/2 cup of chili sauce I used salsa :-) Also to even out the beer taste for me I added some hot sauce, but the man of the house thought it was the greatest thing since sliced bread. Overall a good recipe and I will be using it again. Like they say the way to a man's heart is through his stomach... and this definitely is the key for my guy :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scott Frazier
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
This is my favorite "chili"! Made it on the stovetop since my crockpot is only a 4qt and this made too much to fit. Also added some Cayenne for more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Frazier

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
This was a really good chili. I did add a little chipotle chili powder and a dash of chyenne pepper also and substituted a can of low sodium diced tomatoes and two small cans of tomato sauce for the crushed tomatoes (because I didn't have any). I think it might have been a little on the mild side for us if I didn't add the extra spices. My husband said it could have used more but my daughter (who is not that into spicy things yet) said that it was still a little too spicy but still ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I couldn't believe how delicious this was! I made the recipe as directed, with plans to freeze what my husband and I didn't eat, and there was PLENTY to freeze - even after we ate this for lunch and dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
My chief complaint was that is was very salty. I think the combination of the taco seasoning and the ranch dressing mix added too much sodium and it was just too much for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
we tried it and we like it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
We love this recipe! It's in my Top 5 favorite recipes from this site. I follow the recipe to a tee, and don't change a thing. It's soo flavorful with some heat. You MUST add the beer. It makes a huge difference in the flavor. I serve it with some cheddar cheese & a dollop of sour cream on top. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Awesome...we make this all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Chad-This stew is FANTASTIC.. My family LOVED it. My husband is on a low sodium diet, so I used low sodium taco seasoning and low sodium tomatoes. I only used half of the ranch dressing mix, and it tasted wonderful. Just the right amount of ingredients, and my family liked that it wasn't too beany. Modifications I made were 14oz can of crushed tomatoes instead of 28 oz, and added 2 cans of diced tomatoes with garlic, fire roasted reduced sodium! I used Heiniken beer, and it didn't taste like beer at all. Many thanks for a wonderful recipe. When it was sitting in the crock pot ready to heat overnight, my husband wanted a bowl. I warmed it through on the stovetop, and he loved that the peppers were *al dente*. So it doesn't even have to slow cook!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
My wife and friends absolutely love this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States