Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
FIVE stars as is for us hot food lovers! If you have a more sensitive palate, make it milder with 2 cans mild green chiles and don't add the cayenne. I like many others, dislike people who rate it based on their unique changes but I made it 99% true to the original except I didn't have cayenne but did have chipolte powder instead. I served it with chopped cilantro, avocado, lime wedges, shredded cheese, tortilla chips and sour cream at a friends pot luck get together and allowed everyone to customize it to their preferences. Everyone loved it on a cool Sept. evening. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I've made something close to this before. It's a recipe and I always play with them to get the taste I want. I didn't put as much spicy into it, I left out the jalepeno and reduced the cayenne for kids. I put chili powder in and bell peppers and added mexicorn and Rotel. I put beans in, but what I had on hand, light kidneys, cannellini beans, and great northern beans. I add more to taste, like garlic powder, oregano and Knorr Tomate broth granules instead of salt. I used some chicken broth concentrate to make 2 cups broth also. I used cubed chicken. I also used cilantro and Monterrey Jack cheese. It was yummy. My kids liked it and my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by okiedoll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
LOved this recipe! I made this exactly as written except adding extra chicken and montery jack cheese, the spice was perfect but we like things hot. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Very good!! Better the next day! I followed the recipe except I didn't add jalapeno and reduced cumin to 1 tsp. I didn't have cayenne pepper so I used wet crushed red pepper. I cooked it for 1 hour. It makes a lot so I shared with a neighbor and she loved it too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Yes, it was far too hot!.I only put in half the jalapenos and a forth of the cayenne and still I had to calm it down. I added a Tablespoon of sugar,a whole, large,chopped,raw potato and instead of the cheese I stirred in quarter of a cup of sour cream. I must say the results were great. Still extremely hot but very creamy & flavorful. Next time I'll try the recipe as it stands with no cayenne and the 2 cans of chiles. But there will definitely be a next time and soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Delish! I paired it w/corn bread, and a beer and it was amazing! I halved the cheese and hubby added a shake or two of cinnamon...great dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by carolann
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Loved this tasty chili! Just a couple slight changes to make a little less spicy. Omitted can of jalapeños and added a second can of green chilies. Also used only a pinch of cayenne pepper rather than a teaspoon. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carolann
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
We loved it. I got the mild nacho style jalapenos and mashed 1 can of the beans and added some frozen corn, after reading the reviews. I didn't change the other ingredients except that I used about 4 oz. of cream cheese stirred in at the end since it was the only cheese I had at the time. Hubby brought home some cheddar later and we used it on top. Due to picky kids who don't like onions, I sauteed the onions then used my immersion blender on them with some of the broth and they never knew they were in there. I use this trick a lot, and sometimes I add the garlic to the onion mix to blend because my husband doesn't like garlic or onions. What they don't know won't hurt them I guess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burleson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Yummy!! I followed some of the other reviewers and pureed the third can of beans in my mini-chopper before adding. My kids don't like super spicy stuff, so I left out the jalapenos and cut down the cumin and cayenne pepper. I also sprinkled extra cheese on top of each bowl when I served it. I only had a red onion so I used that instead. It was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Very, very good. This recipe makes more of a hearty soup than a chili, I would say. Didn't have green chiles, so I used a can of salsa verde, and only 2 cans of beans. I think with the amount of broth, it could handle 3 cans but I made this in my crock pot and it was almost full to capacity. For crock pot, I just threw everything in together, except the cheese, and cooked on high for 4 hours. Shredded the cheese in at the end. I used pepper jack for a little more flavor, and added some sour cream to thicken the broth. Excellent, would make again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpiderQueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,469) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili

This zesty white-bean chili packs some heat!

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States