Ceviche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
This was really good. I used frozen scallops because I couldn't find fresh and was nervous about the quality, but I read that the process used for commercially freezing scallops kills some potentially harmful bacteria.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
222 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2001
I gave this to local fish market, they've doubled sales of scallops, orange roughy, halibut, etc. Gave to local restaurant, it's their "cold soup" of the day... I'm gin' it to acquaintances, now, they're "Pals"... nuff said?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
196 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2001
Oh My!!! Almost identical to the ceviche I used to order at one of my favorite restaurants! You can also substitute peeled & deveined shrimp in place of the scallops or use a combination! I'm hooked on this quick & easy recipe - really impresses, as well! Thank you, Star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2004
I made this for my husband who is from Guadalajara. He loved it! Definately get more limes and cut up the scallops some. On my husbands request I left out the green pepper and celery and used regular onion instead. He's still raving about it. I will definatly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2000
I prefer a little heat in my ceviche, so I added one diced jalepeno pepper. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2003
Wonderful, beautiful, classic. Get extra limes to make sure you get enough juice and use any leftovers for Margaritas. We cut each scallop in half to make sure they "cooked" thoroughly and let everything sit for another hour after combining. Very refreshing after a hot day at the beach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2001
Great recipe ! I substitute Shrimp for the Scallops and use a bit less parsley than what is called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I've made this a dozen times --- mostly as written, here ... but I've incorporated a few "tweeks" that suit my tastes: I always make the entire dish a day before I want to serve it ---- makes a HUGE difference..... generally the scallops go into the lime juice first thing in the day and everything else gets added late in the day to be served the following day AND I add most of a medium jalapeno with some of the seeds. A sprinkling of chopped cilantro and chunks of avocado on top make a great presentation and dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hot Springs Village, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2001
Great.I used shrimp.I found a store that sells 100 count,peeled raw shrimp(just the right size). I used a little more cilantro & added a tablespoon of balsamic vinegar. trolleyjim
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2003
This was my first attempt at ceviche and it turned out amazing! Sooooo worth all of the chopping. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ceviche

Delicious, refreshing Mexican seafood appetizer that’s bright with flavor.

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Crab Ceviche

See how to make a simple ceviche with imitation crab meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States