Ceviche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Great with shrimp too! I upped the cilantro, added salt, no celery, less parsley. Most importantly added Serrano or jalapeno to spice it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Very good. I bought fresh scallops and shrimp and I boiled them slightly quick rinse in cold water so they stop cooking. I did use lots of lime juice and lemon juice. I used red onions since this is what I had on hand and since this was a last minute I mixed everything refrigerate for three hours. I doubled the recipe and glad I did everyone had seconds. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
As the poster suggested, I used halibut instead and it turned out delicious. I also omitted the bell pepper & celery. I added dash of tabasco sauce and chilli powder (ca).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
This was my first time making ceviche. I used this recipe as a base for the flavours I wanted. Marinated diced scallop, shrimp and tilapia in lime juice, cilantro and chillies overnight. Chopped grape tomatoes, green pepper, green and white onions, jalapeño, and more cilantro and added the fish, strained, to the veggies with S&P and a couple dashes of Cholula (my chillies and jalapeño were too mild). Poured the mix atop diced avocado and served with tortilla chips. Very good. I like the shrimp best I think, which is weird because I'm not really a shrimp person. Forgot olive oil, but adding some for tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowbuddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
recipe sounds yum. i'm leaving out the parsley cause i'm a cilantro purist..lol. also adding chopped Serrano peppers and topping with fresh chopped avocado. you can also do this with tilapia and shrimp..all good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
I used talapia and shrimp and par boiled them bcs we were hungry! This recipe doesn't disappoint. I also used more cilantro and added avocado.yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I used this as a base recipe. I used 2.5 lbs frozen tilapia (skinless + boneless, vacuum packed into individual wrappers). I let it thaw just enough that I could handle it. I used kitchen shears to cut them into cubes. It took about 14 oz lime juice and several oz of lemon juice to completely immerse all of the fish. I filled a separate bowl with 2 cucumbers, two red bell peppers, a bunch of fresh cilantro (chopped), a bunch of chopped celery, two avocados and one serrano pepper (was I supposed to chop this and mix it in? I just let it soak...) Added salt and pepper. It made two huge bowls but I managed to fit it in the fridge. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
I would like to make this as a "Streamside Lunch" for a fishing trip i am going on next month. can this be made ahead of time, sealed in jars and served 3 or 4 days after it is prepared?? Any help is greatly appreciated
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Used larger chopped scallops. Added shrimp, avocado, jalapeno. More than doubled the cilantro and skipped the parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Made this recipe last year, made it this year! You can't go wrong with this and some tortilla chips as an appetizer. I gave mine a little bit of heat with some hot sauce! I use Seafood Watch's list and choose a fish that is sustainable. We have to choose wisely and be smart consumers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Ceviche

Delicious, refreshing Mexican seafood appetizer that’s bright with flavor.

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Crab Ceviche

See how to make a simple ceviche with imitation crab meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States