Ceviche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I used this as a base recipe. I used 2.5 lbs frozen tilapia (skinless + boneless, vacuum packed into individual wrappers). I let it thaw just enough that I could handle it. I used kitchen shears to cut them into cubes. It took about 14 oz lime juice and several oz of lemon juice to completely immerse all of the fish. I filled a separate bowl with 2 cucumbers, two red bell peppers, a bunch of fresh cilantro (chopped), a bunch of chopped celery, two avocados and one serrano pepper (was I supposed to chop this and mix it in? I just let it soak...) Added salt and pepper. It made two huge bowls but I managed to fit it in the fridge. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
I would like to make this as a "Streamside Lunch" for a fishing trip i am going on next month. can this be made ahead of time, sealed in jars and served 3 or 4 days after it is prepared?? Any help is greatly appreciated
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Used larger chopped scallops. Added shrimp, avocado, jalapeno. More than doubled the cilantro and skipped the parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Made this recipe last year, made it this year! You can't go wrong with this and some tortilla chips as an appetizer. I gave mine a little bit of heat with some hot sauce! I use Seafood Watch's list and choose a fish that is sustainable. We have to choose wisely and be smart consumers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
This was my first time making ceviche. I followed this recipe aside from using dry cilantro instead of fresh. I also omitted the celery. It really is delicious and refreshing! Next time I will probably try using shrimp instead of scallops. This particular recipe is best used for dipping with tortilla chips, I don't really like it by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Great recipe. To be a little more "authentic" I used shrimp instead of scallop and sustituted white onion for celery. A large seeded and diced Jalepeno and some extra lime make it perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nacogdoches, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Left the celery out. Felt adding some spice would have kicked it up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kats97
Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I've made this a dozen times --- mostly as written, here ... but I've incorporated a few "tweeks" that suit my tastes: I always make the entire dish a day before I want to serve it ---- makes a HUGE difference..... generally the scallops go into the lime juice first thing in the day and everything else gets added late in the day to be served the following day AND I add most of a medium jalapeno with some of the seeds. A sprinkling of chopped cilantro and chunks of avocado on top make a great presentation and dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hot Springs Village, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
First time I ever had ceviche was this past summer on Block Island, RI. I haven'stopped thinking about that martini glass filled with baby scallops and shrimps ever since! I decided what better time to make me some of this than New Years Eve! It cam out perfect! It didn't take all night, overnight to cook the seafood in the lime juice. 1 hour !/2 tops. I used large shrimp cut into pieces and baby scallops. I omitted the green onion and used white. No celery, bell pepper, parsley or olive oil. I used 1/2 Jalapeno pepper instead and a dash or 2 or Cayenne pepper and a few pinches of Kosher salt served with a few Tortilla Chips on the side....This def a nice summertime dish and I will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaCan2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marlton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I modified this one quite a bit. I just used it for a general idea on how to make this recipe. my modifications worked out great and I will absoulutely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Olalla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ceviche

Delicious, refreshing Mexican seafood appetizer that’s bright with flavor.

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Crab Ceviche

See how to make a simple ceviche with imitation crab meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States