Ceviche Self-Portrait Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
Have made this recipe twice now. It's absolutely fantastic and easy to follow. The fun part is watching the raw shrimp cook in lime juice with no heat at all. This is a great appetizer dish to prepare ahead of time, as giving it time (overnight) allows all the flavors to mix. I Didn't have tostada shells, so I used tortilla chips instead. I once used the lime juice in a plastic lime container, and this worked fine. Just make sure you have enough lime juice to submerge all of the shrimp, and stir/mix at least once or twice while the shrimp is "cooking"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
Delicious - only change was we added 1 ripe, cubed avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
Excellent! I used 1/2 shrimp & 1/2 crab and added a full bunch of chopped cilantro and a diced avacado, as well as 3 jalapenos instead of serranos. This was fantastic! We ate it with corn chips instead of on tostadas. Yum:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
I have waited so long to make ceviche and this recipe was perfect. Very easy to make and it was absolutely delicious. I make it at least once a week now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
Made this for work and everyone loved it!! Too spicy and tart to eat the night I made it, but by the next day all the flavors had blended and mellowed perfectly. Perfect recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
Excellent! I add a couple more limes to cover and added 1/3 cup chopped cilantro. Sometimes the time varies a little depending on the amount of limes and the temperature of the fridge. One time I used my friend's fridge and it took 4 hours but that was because her fridge was set at almosts freezing (her milk was icy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
I added avocado and used crabmeat and mahi mahi in this dish. After increasing by several limes for juice I left overnight and the seafood cooked perfectly. Next time I'll shred the fish, rather then cube it for even faster cooking. Refreshing dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugaree1485

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Starkville, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
I made a few changes I did 1/2 lb bay shrimp. (the little ones) 1/4 lb immitation crab and 1/4lb bay scallops (little ones). I did a rought chop of all making sure to chop the scallops more than the crab and shrimp because they were already cooked. I put all the scallops on the bottom so they would be submerged in the lime the most. I cut all the veggies and added a handfull of cilantro. Mixed it all up and added some tapatio. Let it sit over night. YUM YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nuevo, California, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
I made this for a party and everyone loved it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buckster73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ripon, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
I added an avocado (chopped) and served on panini bread - it was excellent!! (Hot sauce really added to this recipe to spice it up abit)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Crab Ceviche

See how to make a simple ceviche with imitation crab meat.

Ceviche

Delicious, refreshing Mexican seafood appetizer that’s bright with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States