Cereal Treats II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
I have always loved these since I was a kid. I like to mix and match cereals. One of my favorites is 1/2 rice krispies and 1/2 fruity pebbles. I also like to fill the middle. You just separate the recipe. Press half into a lightly greased 8x8 pan, then spread with whatever filling you prefer. You can do peanut butter, chocolate chips, jam, frosting, whatever sounds good. Then, press the second half over carefully. This is a really fun recipe to play with, so get creative. Sprinkle with cinnamon and sugar, add sprinkles or your favorite candy, or use cookie cutters and make shapes. I really like the sushi idea. Very cute! Today I made them with a variety of cereal I had on hand. I did two cups of each Rice Krispies, Cheerios, and Kix. My kids love them and when I make them with whole grain cereals, it turns out to be a very healthy treat! Tips for the stickiness: Lightly spray your spatula, knife, cookie cutters, and hands with a butter cooking spray. This will make it much easier to spread, cut, and handle the treats! Thanks for the basic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinckley, Utah, USA
Living In: Oak City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
was cleaning out the pantry and used all sorts of cereal mixed together with great results (wheat chex, kashi go lean, kashi good friends, toasted oats, rice crispies). I also added a heading 1/2 cup shredded coconut to it - YUM! As I was mixing in the cereal it seemed like I could add more and still be ok so I added about 3/4 cup more cereal and it mixed in fine. Love that I can use up all those bottom of the barrel cereal boxes from the pantry in one treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodaholic
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
My mom told me about a recipe she came across making candy sushi, PURE FUN and it was the absolute hit of the Halloween party (all adults mind you). Fruit rolls, fish candies and anything that looks like sushi, go for it! Butter your hands frequently-maybe not the best project for little hands as the treats need to be warm and it's so sticky. Yes, I got ill eating candy while I rolled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcrae, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2001
Since it said any cereal was fine, I used the natural food kind of rice cereal, which might have made it less sweet than it could have been. I stirred in chocolate chips at the end, so that made up for it. My parents didn't like them very much (or so they said, though I caught them sneaking some) and they're really sticky, which is why I took a star off. Other than that, they're a good quick treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This was exactly the recipe I was looking for to get rid of a box of cheerios that nobody wanted to eat. I added some milk chocolate chips as well. It came out not as sticky as I thought it would and not too sweet. I'll definately keep this in mind when I need to use up cereal again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Panda Cookies
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
The gummi sushi idea was a big hit! I used less butter (about 4 Tbs.) and added 6 cups of rice cereal to make mine. Loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Panda Cookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2003
These were so good. I made a batch for my daughter and I yesterday afternoon, and they were gone in the next hour. I didn't use the full 1/4 cup of butter...more like 3 tbls. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
We used 4 kinds of cereal, including 1 cup of Cocoa Pebbles. We added a handful of Christmas M&M's----turned out yummy and colorful. My daughter said, "This was fun to make!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAIGENGA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Very versatile recipe! For rice cereal though, I'd either add more cereal or less marshmallows. The treats were very tough - enough to make my jaw hurt yet I kept eating them LOL! I used a non-stick pot to melt the marshmallow on the stove top. Made cleaning sooo easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UALMEIDA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Encinitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
It's very easy to make and tastes pretty good. Unfortunately, the marshmallows make it way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Treats

See how to make super-easy marshmallow treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States