Central American Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
It's all good here! I think part of the problem with the potatoes is that 'large' is a subjective term. Also, I believe some people may differ on how much meat is necessary for a serving. We were happy with a 1 to 1 ratio. If you'd rather have more meat add what you like, but the cooked potatoes add a nice texture. Heating the tortillas in a skillet is a must, but takes no time at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Russellville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I did not care for the meat mixture at all... I can appreciate simple flavors but this was way too bland. I think 5 large potatoes would have been way too many, I used 1 and thought that ratio was good. I added a lot of seasoning to try to salvage it, but no luck. The salsa/guacamole was good and that is the only reason I can give it three stars. Thank you for sharing your recipe, but it just wasn't for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
The green sauce was awesome and I will use it again in other meals, however, the potato beef mixture was bland and tasteless, I tried adding some garlic and cilantro but nothing really good came of that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet sakura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Added adobe seasoning to the potato mixture. I also added a little sriracha sauce to the potato mixture as well as the green sauce since I didnt have any jalepenos. Like others, I added lime juice. Next time, I will add only two potatoes -too much of that ingredient. Otherwise, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
My daughter and I made these for dinner. The salsa was our favorite part. Next time I will brown the potatoes before adding them to the meat, they didn't have a lot of flavor and sort of ended up mashing. I may also add garlic, salt and pepper to the mixture. I highly recommend trying this recipe. As I stated before the salsa was so good I ate it with toritlla chips the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
These tacos are absolutely delicious! I will definitely make this again. I used 3 tomatillos in the sauce and a poblano pepper instead of the jalapeño. In the filling I substituted turkey meat for the ground beef and, taking the advice of previous reviewers, added only 3 potatos which I fried for several minutes before adding the meat. I seasoned the meat with ½ cup of chopped fresh cilantro, onion, salt and ground black pepper. I felt that any more flavorful seasoning (such as American taco seasoning) would take the Central American flare out of the tacos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
My husband is from Guatemala. We added a roasted salsa to it as well. Although we also used minced garlic in the meat mixture. That really put it over the top. Also we used Guatemalen Table cream (found in your local latino markets) and WOW!! that really made it good! Oh, what I meant by roasted salsa is, you can on your grill or over a flat skillet roast your Jalepenos or serrano peppers (we prefer serrano) your onion, and roma tomtoes. till they are pliable, and your able to mash together. add salt and lime juice to taste. if you have a molcajete it is better. Which is just a bowl found at the store. it's made from stone, and has a stone grinder. it's perfect for salsas. or you can use a masher in a bowl. but, there is another seasoning you can add and that's Caldo de res. (beef boulion) to add to the meat. just a touch. not to much. and that will also put it over the top. Also, don't microwave your tortillas. You want "authentic" taste? warm them on your flat skillet or any flat iron surface that you would like make a pancake or something. Microwave tortillas are gross, and fall apart if warmed to long. and they don't stay warm as long. Plus it's got better flavor this way. totally authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DolphinRose

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
These were good I used a diced canned potato they held up better than fresh and added cilantro to the meat I will be making this again thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melanie
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Glad I read reviews before trying this recipe. I used 3 medium sized russett potatoes and that seemed like enough, even could have been better with 1 less potato. Definitely add some seasoning to the meat! I used a cajun seasoning and oregano. You should probably stir the seasoning on the potato as well when cooking. The guacamole was very good, I agree and my first time using tomatillos - lovely! I added lettuce, pico de gallo salsa, sour cream and cheese ...and it was wonderful! will make again (with the changes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
This was a nice change from our plain tacos. I did only use two large potatoes like other suggested and that was the right amount, not to many. I also added 1 Tbsp taco seasoning to the meat for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soy Free Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prescott, Arizona, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Grilled Pork Tacos al Pastor

Pineapple juice, chiles, and spices make a terrific marinade for grilled pork.

Smoked Sausage Tacos

Put a simple smoked-sausage twist on taco night.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States