Central American Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2004
Tasted great, was quick and easy to make. The sauce is wonderful. We added some jalapeno slices from a jar for a little extra heat, but it was great without the tinkering. Will add some extra tomatillos next time for the tartness. Husband really loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
taco mixture was okay but the sauce had zero flavor. My husband said the same thing. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2005
This was very simple to make and very good. I think next time I'll add a little more seasoning to the meat to give it an extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
Delicious, sauce is spicy and tasty. So easy to make. All done in 1/2 hour. Did add salt to sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Dayton, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
I boiled the potatoes a little too long so it turned out more like mashed potatoes with meat mixed in, but still good! Did not serve as tacos since there is enough starch in the potatoes. Sauce is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
The avocado sauce was great, but the recipe called for too many potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
Really good! All it promised-- quiet flavors of the meat and potatoes with the unique zing of the green sauce. Definitely not your same old tired Mexican flavors, will certainly make again. Ate something similar at a Yucatan Restaurant- recipe for the person looking for unique flavor experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
First and most importantly, make it with 2-3 potatoes. 5 is WAY too much. You end up with a potato filling with only a hint of meat. Secondly, use a food processer for making the sauce. A blender is too hard to use for this thick of a sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
These were really good. As others suggested, I cut down on the potatoes; I only used one. The tomatillo guacomole is an outstanding combination with the homey potato/onion/hamburger filling. I was too cheap to buy 3 avocados; I only used one and the ratio with the other ingredients was great. I did not use a blender for the sauce, just finely chopped everything. Really good. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
I wish I had paid more attention to the other reviews, as written there were way to many potatos, could have used more spice, and the sauce was just like guacamole. I seriously doubt I'll make this again, there are beeter reicpes out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Grilled Pork Tacos al Pastor

Pineapple juice, chiles, and spices make a terrific marinade for grilled pork.

Smoked Sausage Tacos

Put a simple smoked-sausage twist on taco night.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States