Central American Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 5, 2006
The sauce is indeed excellent, I added lime juice for a little extra zing. Also like other review's I cut the potatoes down to two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
Too many potatoes. The green sauce was wonderful. I did add one more avocado, coursely chopped to add some "chunk". I agree with a previous reviewer who said this would be easier to do with a food processor, which I currently do not have...sadly. I did add salt to the green sauce, to taste. I did put shredded cheese on the tacos as well. We really enjoyed these tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Bovenkamp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
Wonderful recipe. I kept the ratio of potato to meat the same since I prefer less meat. The green sauce was wonderful with the taco, in particular paired with the corn tortilla. Only thing I added was a little cumin to the meat and potato. Will make this dish again, my family LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
I just made the tomatillo/avocado mixture, but it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
I wish I had paid more attention to the other reviews, as written there were way to many potatos, could have used more spice, and the sauce was just like guacamole. I seriously doubt I'll make this again, there are beeter reicpes out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
These were really good. As others suggested, I cut down on the potatoes; I only used one. The tomatillo guacomole is an outstanding combination with the homey potato/onion/hamburger filling. I was too cheap to buy 3 avocados; I only used one and the ratio with the other ingredients was great. I did not use a blender for the sauce, just finely chopped everything. Really good. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
First and most importantly, make it with 2-3 potatoes. 5 is WAY too much. You end up with a potato filling with only a hint of meat. Secondly, use a food processer for making the sauce. A blender is too hard to use for this thick of a sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
Really good! All it promised-- quiet flavors of the meat and potatoes with the unique zing of the green sauce. Definitely not your same old tired Mexican flavors, will certainly make again. Ate something similar at a Yucatan Restaurant- recipe for the person looking for unique flavor experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
The avocado sauce was great, but the recipe called for too many potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
I boiled the potatoes a little too long so it turned out more like mashed potatoes with meat mixed in, but still good! Did not serve as tacos since there is enough starch in the potatoes. Sauce is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Pork Tacos al Pastor

Pineapple juice, chiles, and spices make a terrific marinade for grilled pork.

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

HERDEZ® Lobster Tacos

See how to make sweet, rich lobster tacos on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States