Central American Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
These were fantastic; I modified the recipe, however. I only used one large potato and a pound of meat. 5 potatoes would be WAY too much. Also added comino, salt, pepper and a little chili powder to the meat. Used 6 raw tomatillos, 2 avocados, juice of 1 lime, salt, pepper and added light sour cream to the sauce. It really needs the lime and sour cream, in my opinion. It was fantastic. Be sure to warm your corn tortillas in an iron skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
I make this at least once a month, and get great reviews! Great party dish, too :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachel.castlen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DeniseAg
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
When first made these tacos according to recipe, they where just alright. The second time I added chicken boullin (I use Knorrs, also called "Caldo de Pollo"), a small pinch of cumin, and a dash of garlic salt and they where AWESOME. The green salsa recipe is fantastic just as directed. I also cut the potatoes to 3 instead of 5. The best tacos I have made, a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeniseAg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
I love all the ingredients in it, so thought it would be great, but it was just inedible, both tacos and sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
I personally didn't like these. I come from a Guatemalan family and the tacos we make aren't like these at all. (the guatemalan tacos I've always had were rolled fried tacos with a red tomato sauce not green on top.)The only thing i found in common with we're the fact that potatoes were used for the tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
Incredible food! As previously described by other reviews it is subtle, unique, and the sauce is fantastic with the garlic, warmth of the jalapeno, fresh cilantro, and avocado/tomatillo combo, all melded in a warm soft corn tortillo. Doesn't get any better. Definitely one of our favorites. PS, thanks to the reviewer for the cumin tip, it did add smokey taste to the filling. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
Horrible disapointment. Taco meat was ok, but only AFTER I added my own spices. Green sauce was inedible. Highly advise buying a pre-made tomatillo sauce from any respectable Mexican restauraunt. Perhaps my tomatillos were bad, but Target usually has great produce, so I doubt it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
Great recipe and my family loved it. I don't have a blender, so I diced the ingredients for the sauce instead. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
These are great! Such a nice change from regular tacos. We love the potatoes in it and the green sauce really completes the dish. We aren't big fans of corn tortillas, but these just aren't as good with flour tortillas. Gotta do the corn tortillas! :) And I learned not to heat the corn tortillas in the microwave...they broke so easily and got a weird taste; will definitely heat on the stove from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2006
Nice and not-too-spicey. I love the tomitillo salsa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seeshells

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Grilled Pork Tacos al Pastor

Pineapple juice, chiles, and spices make a terrific marinade for grilled pork.

Smoked Sausage Tacos

Put a simple smoked-sausage twist on taco night.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States