Central American Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Well, I thought it was a 4 but my husband and son didn't like it much at all so 3 it is. Keep in mind that this is different and that will not appeal to everyone. My husband thought the beef was bland and that the dish needed cheese. Basically, he wanted Tex/Mex, which I was specifically trying to get away from. I thought just using salt and pepper was fine for the beef, that the sauce added all the flavor the dish needed, and that the potatoes were a great touch. The only thing I would change is to use wheat tortillas. I just like them better. I know they aren't as authentic. Of course, I won't be making these again for my family so that's kind of a moot point. :=(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Being hispanic, we were a little hesitant because we have tasted many variations of "tacos"......HOWEVER, we thought these were suprisingly delicious!! I did add cumin and "caldo de pollo" to the meat and boy did my family enjoy these "TACOS"!!! YUMMY..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
I have made this recipe several times. I think it is supposed to be a bit "bland." My husband says it reminds him of the street vendor food in the Dominican Republic where he lived for a short time. They often incorporated ground meat and potatoes into their fare. The only reason I gave it a four star rating is because it is a rather time intensive recipe. I do add less potatoes than called for and watch them carefully so that they aren't over done. I tend to season my meat generously anyway, so that wasn't a problem. My kids liked this too...but the tomatillo sauce was a bit much for their palates so they didn't have it with theirs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
First off, the tomatillo sauce is pretty good. But I felt that the rest of the mixture was really bland. I had to add alot of salt (and I am not a salt girl), just to get any flavor. I did follow some of the other suggestions, especially using only 2 potatoes. Still, I probably won't make this again. But my husband thought it was ok, but he likes REALLY bland food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
I followed the advice of others and used 2 potatoes and added cumin to the meat. They were good, a nice change of pace. The sauce really does make this recipe. I give our dinner last night 4 stars but I give the leftover breakfast tacos I made this morning 5 stars. Simply add some scrambled egg, picante and cheese to the leftover meat/potatoe mixture and you have the BEST breakfast tacos ever! I am going to use the leftover tomatillo sauce on some blackened chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Okay. Added a bit more spice. Actually, I grew up in El Paso, TX and the Woolworths on the ground floor of the building I worked in (circa 1964) made these, only they rolled the meat up in a flour tortilla and called it a burrito. That's what I did, and as I said, I added more seasoning to the meat mixture and also green chiles, and no sauce whatsoever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen Frusha-Boutwell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ozark, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I enjoyed these tacos and it was a nice light meal for a summer day. I also added a little cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
Sort of plain, but a simple enough recipe that I will probably make it again, with a little tweaking. I agree with previous posters, five potatoes is WAY too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
My family loves to have dishes that have tomatillo sauce in them. However, this dish was very bland. I agree with another reviewer about the amount of potato was too much. I put in just 2 medium size and it was too much. It was more like having potato tacos, but without flavor. I have made breakfast tacos with tomatillo and potatoes that had better flavor. The recipe was that horrible, I just had high expectations for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Van Horn, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
My husband loved this recipe! It's a nice change from the traditional mexican tacos that I make. The only thing I changed is added cumin to the meat and only added 2 potatoes. The sauce was excellent and reminded me of guacamole.A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape May, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Grilled Pork Tacos al Pastor

Pineapple juice, chiles, and spices make a terrific marinade for grilled pork.

Smoked Sausage Tacos

Put a simple smoked-sausage twist on taco night.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States