Central American Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
These tacos were a great alternative to regular mexican tacos. The tomatillo sauce MADE the tacos. Although, I didn't have any cilantro :( The only thing I didn't do acording to the recipe was process the avocado in the blender. I processed the other ingredients, then added the avocado & mashed. I also added lime juice. THANKS for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Crowley, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
These are wonderful! Makes a substantial meal for your meat and potato lovers. Made it twice and each time it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilacorn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakdale, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Entire family loved this.....my teenager was still talking about it the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bkwilson5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gatesville, Texas, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
These were pretty tasty! Per other reviews, I only used 3 small-ish potatoes and that was plenty! I also only used 2 avocados, not 3. But other than that it was good--and very different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
One word - Yummy!! I did, however, make some changes to the ground beef because my son and me like our food with a lot of flavor. I made a "sofrito" of onions, garlic, and green peppers and I sauteed that a bit before I put in the ground beef. Then, I added some latin spices (cumin, oregano, garlic powder, etc.) to the ground beef, a bottle of beer, and half a can of tomato sauce and let that cook down. Also, I only used three potatoes fried rather than boiled them. It was more than enough. I made the tomatillo sauce exactly as stated except that I used chili powder instead of jalapenos. All in all it was a delicious dish! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Watch the tomatillos, it can be overwhelming. I'm used to Avocado salsas, on the spicy side, but the tangy flavor using 4 good size tomatillos was overpowering. So, I added chopped onion, another jalapeno and jalapeno juice (from a jar), more cilantro, and blended it again. I cross my fingers on this one, and my husband liked it! The onion is good in the sauce. I cooked 2 lbs hamburger, 1 whole onion, 4 small potatoes, and seasoned well with cumin, garlic, black pepper and some chile powder. My men liked the meat for something different. Just know that you have to season up the meat and adjust the sauce to your palate. I'll use less tomatillos next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanNeeNer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carson, California, USA
Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
There is a fine line between "subtle flavor" and "bland." These fall under the latter category, even with only two potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
i took the advice of others and used less potatoes (only two, which made at least big tacos) and replaced the ground beef with morningstar veggie crumblers. added cumin and paprika (should've done garlic too!) to the meat/potato mix, little bland but good. made the salsa according to recipe. the tomatillos were a little bit overpowering to me. and it made a TON of salsa. way too much for two people. i think i'll scale back on the tomatillos a lot and the avocado a little. good recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
Thought it was okay, different at least. These are much like the Taco's we got in Mexican Restraunts in El Paso, TX. The green sauce added the flavor. I put a little sour cream because the flavor was very strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I browned my potatoes after they were cooked with a little chili powder and cumin and also added the same to my meat. Very good will make again with changes. Loved the green sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA
Living In: New Waverly, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grilled Pork Tacos al Pastor

Pineapple juice, chiles, and spices make a terrific marinade for grilled pork.

Smoked Sausage Tacos

Put a simple smoked-sausage twist on taco night.

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States