Central American Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Yum! This is very good. I forgot to put the avocados in with the rest of the sauce, and thinking that it wasn't enough, I added two tomatillos and another jalapeno. It tasted great so if you want to save yourself some fat calories, go for it! The meat does taste a little bland so with the next go round, I will try using a quarter of the sauce to cook it in (the sauce is very fresh tasting and unique and I don't want to add cumin or other flavors as it would change it). Anyway, this is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherylynn Booth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Largo, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Our family thought these tacos were awesome! I seasoned the taco meat with salt, pepper, garlic, and cumin. When preparing, I heat the tortilla(s) one at a time in a cast iron skillet and place grated cheese (I use mozeralla and pepper jack)and allow it to begin to melt. I then add the taco meat and avocado sauce. My wife likes corn tortillas and I perfer flour. This recipe is a favorite at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
The meat needs some seasoning (garlic, cumin, Chipotle powder etc) but the avocado sauce is absolutely phenomenal! (and it's even better with a generous splash of lime juice.) This is definitely going to be a favorite at my house. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
the tomatillo sauce was awesome the taco filling needed a little more seasoning but all in all it was an awesome dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
It is a nice change from traditonal taco meat. It would also be yummy served like hash with some eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reneembm

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
These were very good. I reduced potatoes a bit - but otherwise this was really tasty. Not the best I've had - but pretty darn good. I'd make it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Moore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spencer, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Simply wonderful! I couldn't get enough of the green sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
my wife and I thought these were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tomball, Texas, USA
Living In: Bacliff, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
Delicious! I used 3 potatoes - baked in conventional oven and added garlic & onion powder and a dash of red pepper. The salsa was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
I liked this recipe. If you are looking for spice, this isn't it. I had lots of avocado sause left and it didn't turn brown after a few days in the refrigerator. I did use my food chopper as the blender didn't work for me. I added some lime juice to sause.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRETA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sitka, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Grilled Pork Tacos al Pastor

Pineapple juice, chiles, and spices make a terrific marinade for grilled pork.

Smoked Sausage Tacos

Put a simple smoked-sausage twist on taco night.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States