Central American Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Yum! This is very good. I forgot to put the avocados in with the rest of the sauce, and thinking that it wasn't enough, I added two tomatillos and another jalapeno. It tasted great so if you want to save yourself some fat calories, go for it! The meat does taste a little bland so with the next go round, I will try using a quarter of the sauce to cook it in (the sauce is very fresh tasting and unique and I don't want to add cumin or other flavors as it would change it). Anyway, this is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Largo, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Our family thought these tacos were awesome! I seasoned the taco meat with salt, pepper, garlic, and cumin. When preparing, I heat the tortilla(s) one at a time in a cast iron skillet and place grated cheese (I use mozeralla and pepper jack)and allow it to begin to melt. I then add the taco meat and avocado sauce. My wife likes corn tortillas and I perfer flour. This recipe is a favorite at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
The meat needs some seasoning (garlic, cumin, Chipotle powder etc) but the avocado sauce is absolutely phenomenal! (and it's even better with a generous splash of lime juice.) This is definitely going to be a favorite at my house. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
the tomatillo sauce was awesome the taco filling needed a little more seasoning but all in all it was an awesome dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
It is a nice change from traditonal taco meat. It would also be yummy served like hash with some eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reneembm

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
These were very good. I reduced potatoes a bit - but otherwise this was really tasty. Not the best I've had - but pretty darn good. I'd make it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spencer, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Simply wonderful! I couldn't get enough of the green sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
my wife and I thought these were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tomball, Texas, USA
Living In: Bacliff, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
Delicious! I used 3 potatoes - baked in conventional oven and added garlic & onion powder and a dash of red pepper. The salsa was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
I liked this recipe. If you are looking for spice, this isn't it. I had lots of avocado sause left and it didn't turn brown after a few days in the refrigerator. I did use my food chopper as the blender didn't work for me. I added some lime juice to sause.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRETA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sitka, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Pork Tacos al Pastor

Pineapple juice, chiles, and spices make a terrific marinade for grilled pork.

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

HERDEZ® Lobster Tacos

See how to make sweet, rich lobster tacos on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States