Celery and Carrot Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
I needed to use up carrots and celery so I doubled the broth and wine, and also added chopped garlic. I also added lemon zest, a bit of lemon juice, and turmeric. The turmeric makes the soup a bright color and adds a bit of flavour. This takes longer than the 35 minutes listed to cook. I let mine simmer for an hour and the veggies still weren't soft. I pureed a bit of it and ate it because I was starving, but I let it cook for another hour. It tasted much better. I will make this again, but I will give myself a lot longer to make it. I'm thinking that this would make a good slow-cooker soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2004
Great tasting! I pureed the carrots and celery to give it a creamier texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2004
This is a tasty soup that I have been making for years. It is delicious as a light first course for lunch or dinner with a hearty sandwich. I also add several garlic cloves that have been minced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
This was very good! I used 4 carrots and celery ribs and 1/2 a minced red pepper to the onion. I used chicken broth and a can of italian diced tomatoes and garlic cloves. I pureed about a 1/4 of the soup before serving. This is awesome if you add a dash of hot sauce and some lemon zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
Fairly good. I added a bit of black pepper. I didn't have any white wine, so I used 1/8 cup white wine vinegar and added some sugar to balance it. I put some crushed crackers in the soup, and it makes for a decent lunch. It might have been better if I'd actually had wine to put in it, but as I did it, it was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
The wine is a necessary addition. I had to go without the tarragon and I compensated with garlic and some half and half. It was deeeelish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
I added alot of extra carrots bcause I needed to use them. I found this to be my favourite carrot soup I Have tasted so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
Fantastic and easy to make! I upped the recipe to six servings and even my finicky teenage daughter loved it! Definitely a "do again".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
It's great !! every now and then to have a recipe that doesn't serve 16 people. This is a nice recipe for two people with a left-over. The feedback from the supporters of allrecipes is also very valuable and appreciated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
This was a pretty good soup, considering how simple it was. I made it exactly as written and the wine definitely makes this soup! After 15 mins of simmering, the carrots and celery were still crunchy. I ended up simmering the soup for about 30 mins, covered. By that time, a lot of the liquid had reduced down, so I added about 1/2 cup more broth and just under 1/4 cup of wine and simmered an additional 5 minutes. I have to admit, when I tasted it the first time, before it was fully cooked, I didn't care for it much. Once it simmered for 30 mins, the flavors really developed and concentrated and turned into a simple soup that's packed wth flavor. The tarragon is a nice touch, so don't leave it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States