Celery and Carrot Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Made it based on the recipe once and then started adding veggies. I always have a ton of vegetables to use from my farm box so I frequently max out the veggie. 5 stars as a base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I adjusted recipe to 6 servings to fill my 2.5 qt. slow cooker and used defatted homemade beef vegetable broth, adding beef bouillon cubes to taste. I substituted freeze dried red onions for fresh, added 1/2 t. of Mrs. Dash Lemon Pepper Seasoning Blend, 1/2 t. of ground Tumeric, and 1 t. of ReaLemon juice. I did not sauté the vegetables but instead put them in the slow cooker raw. This eliminates a good amount of fat. We live near Hatch, NM, "The Chile Capital of The World," so I used Green Chile wine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
great dish, tried it with 1 tsp off crushed chili, gave a nice bite to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
This was a pretty good soup, considering how simple it was. I made it exactly as written and the wine definitely makes this soup! After 15 mins of simmering, the carrots and celery were still crunchy. I ended up simmering the soup for about 30 mins, covered. By that time, a lot of the liquid had reduced down, so I added about 1/2 cup more broth and just under 1/4 cup of wine and simmered an additional 5 minutes. I have to admit, when I tasted it the first time, before it was fully cooked, I didn't care for it much. Once it simmered for 30 mins, the flavors really developed and concentrated and turned into a simple soup that's packed wth flavor. The tarragon is a nice touch, so don't leave it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
I added peas and mushrooms and puréed half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Very tasty! I didn't have the veggie soup, so I used chicken bouillon. I'll definitely make it again. A great solution for extra celery and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Winnetka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
It's great !! every now and then to have a recipe that doesn't serve 16 people. This is a nice recipe for two people with a left-over. The feedback from the supporters of allrecipes is also very valuable and appreciated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Great recipe. I'm a big fan of soups and the white wine gives this one a very special flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabyota

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
The wine is a necessary addition. I had to go without the tarragon and I compensated with garlic and some half and half. It was deeeelish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
I needed to use up carrots and celery so I doubled the broth and wine, and also added chopped garlic. I also added lemon zest, a bit of lemon juice, and turmeric. The turmeric makes the soup a bright color and adds a bit of flavour. This takes longer than the 35 minutes listed to cook. I let mine simmer for an hour and the veggies still weren't soft. I pureed a bit of it and ate it because I was starving, but I let it cook for another hour. It tasted much better. I will make this again, but I will give myself a lot longer to make it. I'm thinking that this would make a good slow-cooker soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States