Celery Smashers with Cream Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
It's okay. It didn't taste as different from regular mashed potatoes as I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
I made this for my boyfriend last night and he told me I was the BEST cook EVER!! I served it with oven-baked chicken tenders and the match was PERFECT!! I loved cooking this recipe as it was super easy and quick to prepare!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Nobody even minded the added veggies! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
I'm a mashed potato purist -- meaning I don't like stuff like sour cream or cheese mixed in :) -- but the celery changed changed up the dish without covering up the potato taste. I'll definitely make it this way from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
I didn't get the celery sauteed enough, so it was still a little crunchy in the potatoes, but even still, my kids who don't like mashed potatoes OR gravy, loved this and couldn't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
Wow is all I can say. I was looking for a different mashed potato recipe. Tonight I wanted to make meatballs so I decided to change the cream gravy slightly by using beef broth instead of chicken. I made the potatoes and then warmed the meatballs in the cream gravy. My 4 children loved the dinner and said, "you should make this every night!" So, so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
I only used to gravy recipe and really liked it. I added a bit more flour as we like a little thicker gravy. Served over mashed potatoes and chicken fried chicken. Also had fresh sweet corn..so good. This gravy reminds me a lot of KFC's gravy. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEASTMAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
This is absolutely delicious. I like to add some garlic and a little more celery and celery salt than called for to the potatoes. The gravy is just lovely - suprising how such a flavorable gravy can be made so simply.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2005
Fabulous! This was a hit at Easter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OnlineMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
Excellent recipe - the celery and onion added even more flavor than I thought they would (although I did make the recipe the night before and reheated it the next day while the turkey was resting, so that could account for the extra flavor throughout). The leftovers made superb potato cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Cream Corn Like No Other

See how to make the tastiest creamed corn of your life. Way better than canned!

Creamy Celery Root Mash

See how to make a quick, creamy vegetable side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States