Cedar Plank Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
This was excellent. Fast, flavorful, and very moist! I have only used cedar planks on the grill, so using it the oven was new to me but a great one to try. With the heat lowered, really helped to retain the moisture - I was out of brown sugar and used Turbinado as a fast substitute and it worked - but will use brown sugar next time for the benefit of carmelizing. Thank you so much! - sarahcf
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saracan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Not a huge fish fan but this recipe did the trick. Followed it pretty closely, triple recipe because I had a big piece of salmon, and thought there would be plenty of leftovers. Not so, ate it all up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I am not a salmon lover but my husband is. We grilled this and didn't have a cedar plank but probably had the same effect with the cedar chips. We also didn't have sesame oil and used oilve oil instead. It was average tasting for both of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
I don't eat fish - but my husband loves it - so I'm always looking for good recipes to suprise him with. This one is now his favorite! We've made it several times since I stumbled across it and he loves it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
This was an absolute hit! I made it for my boyfriends family out at the cabin. We all loved it! I changed a couple of things. I made the brine and marinated in a large tupperware container for 2 days before grilling and I also added 3 gloves of fresh garlic minced - I'm a garlic lover :)We always soak the cedar plank for at least 8 hours before using on the BBQ
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaggieMay
Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I used fresh dill and wild caught salmon. I'm not sure a farm raised salmon has the strength of flavor to stand up to the flavors in the sauce. Also, I think make sure to plank it--I think the cedar adds to the flavor balance. Next time, I might reduce the sugar--salmon as a fish doesn't generally need it. This is my go-to recipe for planking, and I think suits NW caught wild steelhead salmon very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Dinsmore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
I love cedar plank salmon. Didn't have a plank so...I baked this in foil packets in the oven. In my opinion, a good quality salmon should not be dressed up with such strong flavors. It was good a good flavor combination but somewhat overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
The best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
This was good, but not great. We felt like it was "missing something" and while we liked it, our kids wouldn't even eat it without us wiping off the sauce. Maybe it was the dried dill... So, I'm not sure we'll try it again with kids. Glad others have found it delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Wow! I think this may be the best salmon I ever tasted ... I can't believe I made it! Thanks Nicolette505 :) Turned out tender and moist with a delicate, smoky flavor that enhanced rather than overwhelmed the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cedar Planked Salmon

See how to make cedar planked salmon with a simple Asian marinade.

Valentine’s Salmon

Make a romantic baked salmon dinner for your Valentine.

How to Make Salmon in Parchment

See how to make a moist salmon fillet baked in parchment paper.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States