Cedar Plank-Grilled Salmon with Garlic, Lemon and Dill Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
I made this recipe for guests last night and it turned out great. I am not even a seafood lover, and I liked it. The lemon, garlic, and dill was the perfect flavoring for the salmon. I had never heard of using a cedar plank to grill meat, but I absolutely recommend it especially if you have a gas grill (which does not give the meat as much flavor as a charcoal grill. The cedar plank gave it a slightly smoky flavor. The salmon was wonderful and I will definitely make it again. Just a few things I learned--I would recommend getting the "wild" salmon from Whole Foods--especially for people that typically do not like seafood. It is a little more expensive, but it is worth it. The salmon was very fresh and not "fishy" smelling, and in addition Whole Foods have quality meat there without additives or growth hormone. The plank was very easy to work with(thanks to the reviewer who said they got an untreated cedar plank at Home Depot). I soaked it in water for about 4 hours (make sure to get a brick to hold the plank down--I used a pot and the plank kept going up to the surface.) It took a little bit longer to cook than the recipe said--about 35 minutes. It is hard to tell by the color that the salmon is done, so the meat thermometer is essential. When the salmon got to 130 F it was perfect (medium). Hope this helps, you won't be disappointed with the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veggie Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
Absolutely, no doubt-about-it, 5-star recipe all the way! Finally found my untreated cedar plank at Home Depot. Soaked it in water for about 4 hours, laid it on the gas grill for 10 minutes at high heat, placed a beautiful Alaskan Copper River sockeye salmon filet on the plank, with the sauce, on the grill at low heat for 25-30 minutes, and it came out utterly moist and SO tender and delicious! Definitely company-worthy. (I would reduce the salt just EVER so slightly, in the future.) Thanks for the great recipe & clear, simple instructions, Pam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
This recipe is the best salmon I've ever had or made. So easy too! We thought it was too saltly so the next time I used about half of what was called for. I purchased my planks and salmon at Costco. Their frozen skinless fillets were great. I would use 6 fillets for this recipe. My husband loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
This was my first time planking but did we love it. Soaked the plank fro about 6 hours. Substituted the dill for rosemary (chopped up). Cooking time was 18 minutes. (I only peeked once and had to spray a bit of water on the plank to make sure it wouldn't flare up) As I needed to serve 4 (2 adults and 2 kids) I only had 1.5Lbs of salmon but I could just as well bought 3lbs. When I brought the fish in the house my wife said it smelled like a real restaurant. The kids asked if I could make it again tomorrow and the day after and the day after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Living In: East Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
This can only be described as excellent. My husband, who is not the biggest fan of salmon, said that it was the best he'd ever had. I love salmon and thought the same thing. I am so happy to have found a recipe that we both love...now we can have salmon more often! THANKS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emily
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
This was fantastic! The topping was delicious along with the smoke from the cedar plank. I soaked mine for 2 hours and didn't have any problems with it catching fire. It did buckle a little and the bottom got charred but the salmon cooked beautifully. The lemon zest is much more flavorful than simply using lemon juice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Bloomfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
Yum-O and finally, a recipe that discusses how to properly prepare the cedar planks! Bravo! Great recipe with a spectacular presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
Awesome, I love this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
The whole family loved it. I don't like salmon that much, I usually have to fight to eat my whole portion. This was easy. My 4 year old said it rocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
Wow! Awesome recipe, easy-to-follow instructions. I'd have to say this was the best salmon I've ever had, let alone made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSDORKY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Islip, New York, USA
Living In: Portola Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cedar Planked Salmon

See how to make cedar planked salmon with a simple Asian marinade.

Chef John's Baked Lemon Pepper Salmon

Make this healthy dish with your favorite wild salmon.

Lemon Garlic Tilapia

See how to make a mild baked fish that’s quick, healthy, and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States