Cazuela de Vaca (Beef and Pumpkin Stew) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
SUPER! I eliminated the red pepper and corn on the cob, and substituted butternut squash for the pumpkin. It was delicious and we really enjoyed it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laura
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I liked this recipe. I thought it came our really good. Used butternut squash instead of pumpkin but otherwise followed recipe exactly. Slightly bland but not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
South American 'pumpkin' is completely different from North American Pumpkin. It is sweeter and much softer, more a squash really. DO NOT USE PUMPKIN, SUBSTITUTE with Butternut Squash. I would use Knorr beef bouillon instead of beef broth and add sweet potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I have two Chilean students staying with us and I made this for them. They said it was very good and even went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
This was a huge hit for our thanksgiving lunch for 4 people.I cooked it all in a crock pot over night except I didn't add the pumpkin. Then the next morning I cut the top off a pumpkin and saved the top for later. Meanwhile I had some other pumpkin chunks I added to the stew and let it simmer for another 2 hrs. I transported part of the stew into the pumpkin and baked it with a foil on top. I baked it for another hr but I think that was too long. The bottom started to leek. I would say maybe 20 minuted would have enough time for the pumpkin to bake. The top was too big for it to fit in the oven on the pumpkin, so I cooked it for about 30 minutes so it would have an even color. This was an excellent recipe my whole family loved but the only problem I saw was cooking the pumpkin too long. Other than that A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
That was really good soup! I was skeptical at first to try this recipe reading from the previous comments about adding cumin and substituting the pumpkin. But I wanted a pumpkin stew recipe from the enormous pumpkin we just harvested. I used all the above ingredients but I cut my roast and pumpkin a bit smaller and used little red potatoes. My stew came out more hearty than more liquid...and was so flavorful! I had some cumin just in case, but did not need it. This is my first time making a pumpkin beef stew and I can't wait to bring it to my parents' home for Thanksgiving! It's so tender, that it won't ruin my mother's dentures! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HelpMe2Stop.org

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This soup is a big hit in our house! Even my picky 2 year old liked it. :) I did substitute butternut squash for the pumpkin, used broccoli and mushrooms instead of leeks and onions (my husband doesn't like onions and I had mushrooms and broccoli I didn't want to go bad) as well as added the cumin someone else suggested. Amazing soup! Oh, but when I made it, it served way more than 6! It made a very large stock pot full. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
I tried this receipe for my in laws who are Chilean and just flew in from South America on night. I was sadden that the cazuela/pumpkin turned out dry. I would use butternut squash or acorn squash next time. My mother who made this dish back in the old country recommended trying it with butternut squash. You can also use this receipe with chicken instead of beef if you like. My father in law wanted to add Cumin since it was missing just a tad flavor. Overall it is a nice basic soup and I followed the receipe 100% as written. I was hoping to impress but instead got a cooking lesson at dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
Nice start. I did add more veggies though. Topped it with Cilantro, and Onions. Really nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States